US Secretary of State John Kerry honoured with Tipperary Peace Award

Joins list of distinguished recipients

US Secretary of State John Kerry honoured with Tipperary Peace Award

The United States Secretary of State John Kerry is to receive the 2015 Tipperary (Ireland) International Peace Award.

The announcement was made on Wednesday by the Tipperary Peace Convention through its Hon. Secretary,

Martin Quinn.

Secretary Kerry's work on a global basis to bring about an end to conflict in many countries is being recognised by Tipperary Peace Convention.

Responding to the news of his selection, Secretary Kerry said - "I am grateful to be selected for the Tipperary Peace Award. I am truly honoured to be listed among the remarkable past recipients who have contributed so much to the cause of creating a more peaceful world."

The Award will be presented to Secretary Kerry at a ceremony in Tipperary later this year.

Previous recipients of the Tipperary International Peace Award includeformer South African President the late Nelson Mandela, Live Aid organiser Bob Geldof, former U.S. President Bill Clinton, former Prime Minister of Lebanon the late Rafic Hariri, Afghan Human Rights Activist Dr. Sima Samar, former Prime Minister of Pakistan the late Benazir Bhutto, US Ambassador Jean Kennedy Smith and her brother the late Ted Kennedy, former President

of Ireland Professor Mary McAleese and her husband Senator Martin McAleese,

Pakistani schoolgirl and Nobel Laureate Malala Yousafzai, American Diplomat Dr. Richard Haass and last year's recipient, Secretary General of the UN

Ban-ki Moon.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.