Tipp's finest young sports stars hoping for Community Games finals success

National finals over two weekend in Athlone

Tipp's finest young sports stars hoping for Community Games finals success

The eyes of the world may be on Rio for the Olympic Games but Tipperary's finest young sportsmen and women will be going for their own gold medals at the National Finals of the Community Games over the next two weekends.

Over 160,000 young people participated in activities all over Ireland during the year and 7,000 have qualified for the HSE-sponsored finals in Athlone.

The Tipperary finalists are -

Weekend 1 - August 12-14


u8 Hannah Murray, Ballingarry, Sean McNamara, St Flannan’s

u10 Aoibhe Matthews, Roscrea, Colin Murray, Ballingarry (returning to defend his title)

u12 Sarah Kelly, Newport, Kieran Murray, Ballingarry.

u14 Lauren Hannon, John Ryan. u16 Yvonne O’Toole, Eoin McGrath all from Newport.

Cross Country

u12 Girls Sinead Connolly, Aine Ryan, Ciara Ryan, all Newport, Sara Riberio, Isabelle Corbett, both Ballingarry, Aeidin Johnson, Moycarkey.

U12 Boys Dara Kennedy, Newport, Patrick Carroll, Cian Ryan, St Flannan’s, Kieran Murray, Adam O’Donnell, Michael Blake all Ballingarry.

U14 Girls Amy Hayde, Blainaid Ryan, Ballinahinch, Niamh Cuneen, Ellen Cuneen, Templederry, Emma Murray, Ali O’Connell, Ballingarry. U13 mixed to be clarified.


Boys u15 Kevin Gayson Molloy Cashel Rosegreen.

Grass Cycle

Girls u12 Saoirse Kelly, Roscrea. u14 Lucy Murphy, Cashel Rosegreen.

Boys Ethan Gayson Molloy, Cashel.


u10 Abaigeal Clarke, St Flannan’s Mark O’Meara, Fethard

U12 Karol Ryan, Drangan, Dara Kennedy, Newport.

Model Making

Clean sweep for Lattin Cullen with the Carew sisters, Aine & Leah winning u12 and u14 and Meadbh Hourigan winning the u16 events.


Girls – Saturday 13th

Freestyle u8 Emma Day, Thurles.u10 Aoife Colwell, Clonmel u12 Marguerite Buckley, Powerstown, U14 Edel Daly, Roscrea u16 Sasha Hehir, Ballingarry

Backstroke U10 Jenna Hayes, Powerstown U12 Sophie Harris, Thurles U14 Ava Collins, Powerstown, U16 Sarah Ni Cheallaigh, St Olivers.

Breaststroke U12 Katie O’Brien, Ballinahinch. U14 Lauren Hurley, Powerstown

Butterfly U14 Sinead Owens, Kilsheelan U16 Ellen Buckley, Powerstown Lisronagh

U13 Relay: Powerstown Lisronagh:- Megan Hurley, Isobel Hurley, Muireann Duffy,

Marguerite Buckley, Lara O’Brien

U16 Relay Powerstown Lisronagh:- Ava Collins, Lauren Hurley, Ellen Buckley, Robyn Tynan.

Boys – Sunday 14th

Freestyle. U8 Peter Downey, Cashel Rosegreen, u10 Tadgh Buckley, Powerstown

u12 Jack Fitzgerald, Newport, u14 Brendan Quinn, Ballinahinch, u16 Denis Mulcahy, Powerstown

Backstroke U10 Sasha Lapko, Cashel, U12 Jack Carrig, Newport, U14 Alex Tully, Moycarkey Borris U16 David Mawe, Thurles

Breaststroke u12 Killian Owens, Kilsheelan Kilcash, u14 Brendan Cantwell, St Peter & Pauls

Butterfly u14 Michael Buckley, Powerstown Lisronagh u16 Conor McLoughlin, Clerihan.

U13 Relay Newport:-

Jack Carrig, Jack Fitzgerald, Calum Merrigan, Cian Merrigan, Aaron Pearson, John Ryan

U16 Relay Powerstown Lisronagh:-

Michael Buckley, Denis Mulcahy, Liam Mulcahy, Hugh O’Sullivan

It will be a proud weekend for the Buckley family with all four siblings Ellen, Michael, Marguerite and Tadgh among the Tipperary champions striving for gold.

Table Quiz

u14 Dillon Hickey, Mel Delaney, Anna Ryan, Tommy Maher Templemore

Talent Event

Solo Singing: u12 Diarmuid Fahey, St Mary’s u16 Sarah Maher, Cashel.

Solo Music: u12 Oran Kelly, Lattin Cullen, u16 Caoimhe Flanney, Roscrea

Group Music

u12 Robert Healy, Cathal Healy, St Flannans, u16 Caoimhe Flannery and Jack Flannery, Roscrea, Group singing u16 Colm Boyle, Jane Delaney, Anna Harkin, Emma Kelly, Shane Maher. Borrisoleigh.


Cashel Rosegreen u12 Girls 7 a side Soccer. Ss. Peter & Pauls u14 mixed Skittles. Moycarkey Borris u10 girls Indoor Soccer. Newport u13 girls Futsal. Cloughjordan boys and

Girls Table Tennis teams.

Weekend 2 - August 19-21


U8 60m Anna Paxman, Silvermines, Colin O.Brien, Mullinahone

U8 80m Leah Berry, Newport, Harry Barton, Drangan Cloneen

U10 100m Emma Kennedy, Borrisokane, Daithi Smith, Carrick On Suir

U10 200m Ceola Bergin, Roscrea, Jack Carroll, Toomevara

U10 Hurdles Niamh O’Brien, Roscrea, Joshua Simpson, Carrick On Suir

U12 100m Cataline Santos Ondo, Templederry, Killian Power, Carrick On Suir

U12 600m Sinead Connolly, Newport, Cian Hodgins, Nenagh

U14 100m Caoimhe Power, Carrick On Suir, Adam O’Dwyer, Moycarkey Borris

U14 800m Aimee Hayde, Ballinahinch, Robert Barton, Drangan Cloneen

U14 Hurdles Lynn Vermeer, Carrick On Suir, Aaron Pearson, Newport

U16 100m Rachel Walsh, Carrick On Suir, Adam Dooley, Roscrea

U16 200m Miriam Daly and Jake Vermeer both Carrick On Suir

U16 1500m Emma Fagan, Newport, Oran Mulhall, Moycarkey.


U10 Mixed Roscrea, u12 Girls Roscrea, u12 Boys, Roscrea, u13 Mixed Roscrea,

U14 Girls Carrick On Suir, u14 Boys Moycarkey Borris, u15 Mixed Newport

U16 Girls Carrick On Suir, u16 Boys Moycarkey Borris.

Field Events

U12 Ball Throw Eve Cronin, Carrick On Suir, Eoin Carroll, Cloughjordan

U12 Long Puck Michelle Flanagan, Moycarkey, Jack Mullaney, Ballinahinch

U14 Long Jump Anna Ryan, Moycarkey, Mark Carroll, Toomevara

U14 Shot Putt Roisin Power, Ballinahinch, Jack Barnett, Templemore

U14 Javelin Laura Hayes, Borrisokane, Dillon Ryan, Moycarkey Borris

U16 Discus Emily Gardiner, Carrick On Suir, Sean Mockler, Moycarkey

U16 High Jump Emily Tierney, Cloughjordan, Brian O’Callaghan, Moycarkey.



u9 Gabriela Kowalik, u11 Rebecca Curran, u15 Amy Cronin all from St. Mary’s u13 Amy Hickey, St Peter & Paul’s

Boys u9 Harry Weymouth, Clonmel u11 Ronan O’Dwyer, u13 Adam O’Dwyer brothers from Moycarkey Borris.


Recitation u12 Aoife Flynn, St Flannan’s u14 Leona Ryan, Kilcommon


Aine Carew, Leah Carew, Katelyn Heffernan, Mai Heffernan, Cliona Hourigan, Lattin Cullen.

Solo Dance

u16 Megan Maher, Templederry, Group Dance u16 Sarah Madden, Orla Maher, Emer Tuohy, Silvermines


Fethard & Killusty u12 Girls Football Heather Spillane (Captain) Katie Wyse, Jessica Moloney, Grainne Murray, Rose O'Donnell, Ciara O'Meara, Kaycie Ahearne, Lily O'Mahoney. Emily Spillane,Emily Davey, Kelly Ryan, Isobel Maher, Aine Connolly, Nicole Delaney, Aoife Harrington, Lucy Kenny.

Toomevara u11 Hurling Team.

If anyone has any photos from either weekend please email them to peggycolville@gmail.com

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.