27 Nov 2021

Tipperary's Birdhill cleans up as it takes fourth national Tidy Towns award

Tidy Towns

Tipperary's Birdhill cleans up as it takes fourth national Tidy Towns award

The tiny Tipperary village of Birdhill was this Monday annouced as Ireland's tidiest village in this year's National Tidy Towns awards.

The picturesque village has now won the award for the fourth time, having previously lifted it in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

And the village was just one point off being overall winner, trailing Skerries in County Dublin by 327 to 326 points.

“It's nice to come back, even though we have been working away down the years,” Denis Floyd, chair of Birdhill Tidy Towns told the Tipperary Star after the ceremony.

Denis put the win down to hard work, planning and having people involved with different expertise.

Birdhill was congratulated on its win by TDs Alan Kelly and Jackie Cahill and Ireland South MEP Deirdre Clune.

Deputy Kelly said Birdhill's award was an “incredible achievemenet”.

He also praised all the Tipperary towns, saying: “"I am delighted to see so many Tipperary towns, villages and personalities receiving awards today. These awards are an acknowledgement to all the volunteers for their hard work and commitment in keeping their communities clean.”

Deputy Cahill said: “Birdhill have been top dogs in the national Tidy Town’s competitions for nearly a decade, and they continue to do Tipperary proud.”

Ms Clune said that the people of Birdhill had worked hard for this award and said “I would like to pay particular tribute to the organising committee”.

Meanwhile, Tipperary towns and villages fared well this year, with former national winner Terryglass taking a gold medal on 324 points, three behind Skerries. Silvermines took silver while Roscrea and Nenagh took bronze in their category.

In South Tipperary, Clonmel and Emly took gold on 325 points, with Kilsheelan taking silver.

The following are the results for the Tipperary twons and villages who took part in the National Tidy Towns 2016:


Category A

Birdhill 326

Terryglass 324

Kilbarron 307

Killoscully 304

Lorrha 304

Upperchurch 294

Inch-Bouladuff-Ragg 293

Ballingarry 293

Carrig 285

Clonmore 284

Kilcommon 283

Moyne 277

Toor 269

Ballinahinch 264

Capparoe 263

Shevry 255

Ballycommon 252

Castleiney 250

Ardcroney 248

Ballycahill 243

Dromineer 234

Shallee 221

Ballinure 216

Category B

Silvermines 319

Holycross 305

Cloughjordan 302

Portroe 302

Puckane 287

Two-Mile-Borris 272

Rearcross 264

Templetuohy 260

Loughmore 255

Riverstown-Killeen 236

Category C

Ballina 306

Templemore 286

Newport 255

Category E

Roscrea 304

Nenagh 300

Thurles 285


Category A

Cloneen 294

Drangan 288

Grange 283

Lattin 282

Kilcash 281

Ballyneale 275

Hollyford 275

Dualla 247

Glengoole 237

Kilross 223

Ballynonty 205

Category B

Emly 325

Kilsheelan 317

Dundrum 301

Ardfinnan 292

Cappawhite 292

Newcastle 291

Marlfield 285

Golden 283

Mullinahone 278

Bansha 276

Killenaule 263

The Commons 252

Ballingarry 249

Rosegreen 240

Cullen 233

Category D

Cashel 306

Cahir 304

Tipperary 282

Fethard 269

Category E

Carrick-on-Suir 278

Category G

Clonmel 321

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.