06 Dec 2021

Scoil Mhuire students honoured at awards night


Scoil Mhuire students honoured at awards night
By @TheNationalist

Glanbia CEO Siobhan Talbot, one of Ireland's most influential business women, returned to her alma mater in Carrick-on-Suir last week to offer some words of wisdom to the school's current students.

The past pupil of Scoil Mhuire Secondary School addressed the school's annual students awards ceremony last Wednesday.

She remembered fondly the time she spent at Scoil Mhuire and spoke about how greatly she valued the education she received at the school.

Ms Talbot thanked her former teachers for this, some of whom were present on the night. She congratulated all the students present on their awards and offered some salient advice to them. “Work hard, continue to be ambitious for yourself, and when things don’t go your way take solace in your friends and family but ‘dust yourself off’ and get on with the tasks ahead next day," she told them.

"A good Leaving Cert result or degree will open doors for you but it is your willingness and energy to learn and adapt to an ever changing world that will enable you to achieve your goals,” she added. Ms Talbot repeated the old adage; “Youth is sometimes wasted on the young” and advised students to enjoy each day to the best of their abilities.

The Overall Student of the Year award consisting of a perpetual trophy, the Catherine McCauley award and the Mossy Casey Memorial Bursary was presented to Siobhan Hahessy from Rathgormack, who completed her Leaving Cert in June. The awards and bursary were presented to Siobhan by Scoil Mhuire Principal Tricia Ryan, Siobhan Talbot and Shirley Holloway of Carrick-on-Suir Credit Union.

Other Students of the Year award winners were: Kate Hahessy (6th year), Renee Mackey (5th Year), Rhona Butler (Transition Year), Laura Power and Saskia Mammah (3rd Year), Leah Greene (2nd Year), Abigail Quigley, Megan Roche, Katelyn Walsh (1st Year).

Members of the school's All-Ireland Grade A winning Senior Ladies Football team, the U-19 badminton team that were All-Ireland runners up and the U-17 athletics team that were best in Ireland were honoured for their outstanding contribution to sport.

Caoimhe O'Connell was rewarded for her outstanding results in the Junior Certificate and Academic Excellence awards were presented to nine girls, who achieved in excess of 500 points in their Leaving Certificate. These were Laura Dillon Dunphy, Aine Power, Ciara O Toole, Ciara Whelan, Roisin Duggan, Aisling Kenny, Roisin O’ Shea, Kate Sheehan and Aislinn Duggan.

The CEIST Award was presented to Kate Hahessy, as the student who best displayed the CEIST values of dignity, respect, sense of community and pursuit of excellence in learning. Awards were also presented for class spirit and perfect attendance, junior art and music.

Principal Tricia Ryan congratulated the students on all their achievements and urged them to continue to strive for excellence in all of their pursuits; academic or otherwise.

Ms Ryan also paid tribute to the whole school community; parents, teachers, ancillary staff and the studentsfor all they do to make the school such a wonderful place to teach and to learn.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.