Roscrea St. Patrick's Day Parade a huge success

Eoin Kelleher


Eoin Kelleher


Roscrea St. Patrick's Day Parade a huge success

Members of the Organising Committee: Pamela Aitken, Teresa Delaney, Shane Lee, Marie Tooher (Sec.) with Paddy Kiely (King of the Castle).

Roscrea’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade Organising Committee made up of Steve Crofton, Marie Tooher, John Lupton, Shane Lee, Pamela Aitken, Mary Heffernan, Sean Delaney, Derek Russell, PJ Wright, Michael Madden, Michael Smith and Arthur Crawford would like to thank sincerely all who helped out in any way in making Roscrea’s 40th St. Patrick’s Day Parade a success. We would especially like to thank the following:-

Mrs. Joan Hastings as our Guest of Honour, The White House for the Pre-Parade reception, Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Ros Cré for providing music on the Review Stand before the Parade, Teresa Delaney for the face painting, Bernies Super Valu for supplying treats, Phelan’s Market House, the Marshals, Doherty Hardware and Coughlan Hauliers in providing the use of their trailor and lorry, the Garda Siochana, Ger O’Meara, Sean Doherty, MC for the day Mr. Adrian Hewson, all the participants of floats and the Judges – Adrian Hewson, Rose Crofton and Joan Murray for the judging of the parade and Pamela Aitken, PJ Wright and Mary Heffernan for the judging of the Shop Window Display.

Sincere thanks to the following sponsors/patrons:-
Tipperary County Council, Roscrea Credit Union, Roscrea Vintners, Roscrea Lion’s Club, Roscrea Chamber of Commerce, Roscrea Stands Up, Michael Breen Solicitor, AIB, Brendan Hyland Solicitor, Roscrea Heritage Society, Victor Mitchell – Auctioneers, Valuers & Estate Agents, ONET Pierce McCann Branch, and everyone who gave so generously to the Church gate collection.

Community Involvement
The organisers acknowledge the involvement of many community groups and many groups of young people in this year’s Parade which helped make it very much a community event. They are also grateful to the members of the local press for supporting the community nature of the parade and for their coverage of same in that context.

The following are the winners of the 2018 Parade:-
Best Overall –Chamber of Commerce Perpetual Trophy - Pat O’Brien – St. Patrick, Best Schools entry-Bernie’s Super Valu Perpetual Trophy – Corville National School and St. Cronan’s National School, Best Business Float- Lupton & Associates Perpetual Trophy – Bernies Super Valu, Best Sport/Youth Category- R.C.T.L.C Perpetual Trophy Category – Roscrea Soccer League, Best Residents Group – Ashbury Residents Association, Best Heritage entry: Dance Academy, Best Cultural and Traditional – John O’Donnell Perpetual Shield – Banna Damer (Roscrea Comhaltas), Best Local Community Group- Charlie Doyle Perpetual Cup- Roscrea Lion’s Club, Best visiting Band- Michael Delahunty Perpetual Trophy – McDonagh Pipe Band, Templemore, Best Visiting Out of Town Entry – Tesco Perpetual Shield – Desmond Austin, Best entry from a Local Club sponsored by Tidy Towns Committee – 6th Tipperary Roscrea Scouts, Special Recognition Award – Roscrea Credit Union - The Haven Rescue, Special Merit Award – St. Patrick’s Day committee – Roscrea SPCA.

Special Awards – Shop Window Display:
1st Percival’s sponsored by Roscrea Heritage Society.
2nd Haven Pharmacy sponsored by Rosrea Chamber of Commerce.
3rd Petal’s Florist sponsored by Roscrea Chamber of Commerce.

Family Heritage Cards
Congratulations to Ciara Crampton and Nuala Cunningham who won the family heritage cards for our St. Patrick’s Day raffle kindly donated by the OPW.