Roscrea’s 41st St Patrick’s day parade was a huge community effort

Mr Steve Crofton was our Guest of Honour, Master of Ceremonies for the day

Eoin Kelleher


Eoin Kelleher



Roscrea’s 41st St Patrick’s day parade

Pictured above are overall winners Corville National School PICTURE: PJ WRIGHT

Chairman Shane Lee on behalf of the Roscrea’s St. Patrick’s Day parade organising committee made up of Marie Tooher, John Lupton, Pamela Aitken, Steve Crofton, Catriona Fletcher, Mary Heffernan, Sean Delaney, Derek Russell, PJ Wright, Michael Madden, Michael Smith and Arthur Crawford would like to thank sincerely all who helped out in any way in making the Roscrea St. Patrick’s Day Parade a success.

We would especially like to thank the following: 

Mr Steve Crofton as our Guest of Honour, MC for the day. Mr. Adrian Hewson, Paul Phelan of Phelan’s Market House for hosting the Pre-Parade reception, Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Ros Cré for providing music at the Pre Parade reception and on the Review Stand before the Parade, Teresa Delaney and Mary McNamara for the face painting, Shane Reynolds for the sound, Sean Doherty for the speakers, The Baby Shark song: Saoirse Flannery, Blaithín Bolger and Francis DeLewis, Allanah Cleary, Leah Ryan and Caoimhe Flannery for costume dress up in parade, Fr. Harding, Petals, the Marshals, Paddy Reidy of the C.E. Scheme, Mary Conroy – Roscrea Tidy Towns, Gearoid Doherty of Doherty Hardware and Daire Coughlan of Coughlan Hauliers for providing the use of their trailor and lorry and helping hand on the day, the Garda Siochana, all the participants of floats and the Judges – Siobhan Bowe and Andrew Walsh for the judging of the parade. Thanks to the media for great coverage of the parade, Tipp FM, and also to PJ Wright, Sean Hogan and Noel O’Meara – photographers.


Sincere thanks to the following sponsors/patrons:
Tipperary County Council, Roscrea Credit Union, Roscrea Vintners, Roscrea Lion’s Club, The Cosy Kitchen, Theresa’s Alterations, Looby Tiles, Phelan’s Market House, Dr. Pauline DeFeu, Percival’s, John McQuaid, Tobin’s – Jewellers, Michael J Breen – Solicitor, AIB, Donal O’Meara – Roscrea Express, St. Cronan’s National School, St. Vincent de Paul, Lupton & Associates, Roscrea Shopping Centre, Mitchell Auctioneers, Bernies Super Valu, Roscrea Sinn Fein, Supermac’s, McDonald’s, Seamus Coonan, Racket Hall, Michael and Sinead Lynch - Biddy’s Bar, Redmond’s - Photographer’s and Mulrooney GALA and everyone who gave so generously to the Church gate collection and to the fundraiser in Bernies Super Valu for our Valentine’s Hamper.

Thanks to all the businesses for dressing their shop windows.

Special thanks to Roscrea Heritage Society for sponsoring the Best Dressed Window and Roscrea Chamber of Commerce for sponsoring Best Overall Entry in the Roscrea St. Patrick’s Day Parade.

Community Involvement
The organisers acknowledge the involvement of many community groups and many groups of young people in this year’s Parade which helped make it very much a community event. They are also grateful to the members of the local press for supporting the community nature of the parade and for their coverage of same in that context.

The following are the winners of the 2019 parade:
Best Overall – Chamber of Commerce Perpetual Trophy & €200 – Scoil Iosef Naofa (Corville National School), Best Schools entry-Bernie’s Super Valu Perpetual Trophy – Corville National School, Best Business Float- Lupton & Associates Perpetual Trophy – Richard Brosnan - Brosnan’s Recovery Service, Best Sport/Youth – RCTLC Perpetual Trophy – Zumba with Irina, Best local community group – RCDC Perpetual Cup - Roscrea SPCA, Best Cultural and Traditional – John O’Donnell Perpetual Shield – Roscrea Lion’s Club, Best visiting Band- Michael Delahunty Perpetual Trophy: McDonagh Pipe Band - Best Visiting Out of Town Entry – Tesco Perpetual Shield – Knock Tractor Run, Best entry from a Local Club sponsored by Tidy Towns – Roscrea Scouts, Special Recognition Award – sponsored by Roscrea Credit Union – Pat O’Brien (St. Patrick’s with Rod the Dog), Special Merit Award – St. Patrick’s Day committee – Roscrea Street League.


Best Schools Project sponsored by Roscrea Heritage Society: Gael Scoil Shlí Dála,

Special Awards – Shop Window Display sponsored by Roscrea Heritage Society

1st Percival’s, 2nd Frawley’s and 3rd Petal’s Florist.

Family Heritage Cards
Congratulations to Maria Hennessy winner of the Facebook competition for and OPW Family Heritage card and congrats also to Liam McGrath and Margaret & O’Donoghue, winners of the OPW Family Heritage Cared from our free street raffle kindly donated by Roscrea Heritage Society.