Tipperary ETB honours its student achievers

Tipperary Star reporter


Tipperary Star reporter



Tipperary ETB honours its student achievers

Tipperary Education and Training Board (ETB) hosted its annual awards ceremony in LIT, Thurles, for students who attended the post-primary schools under the remit of the Tipperary Education and Training Board for the academic year 2017/2018.

The event acknowledges the outstanding achievements of students in ETB schools and is a significant event in the annual calendar of the ETB.

Fionuala McGeever, chief executive of Tipperary ETB, opened the ceremony by welcoming guest speaker LIT president Prof Vincent Cunnane, ETB committee members, ETB staff members, principals, deputy principals and staff from the ETB schools, award recipients, their families and friends.

The awards were presented to the award recipients by Ms McGeever, Prof Cunnane and Liam Ahearn, deputising for the chairperson of Tipperary ETB, Cllr John Hogan.

The award recipients were students from Borrisokane Community College, Coláiste Chluain Meala, Clonmel; Gaelcholáiste Chéitinn, Clonmel; Coláiste Dun Iascaigh, Cahir; Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed, Thurles; Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré; Comeragh College, Carrick-on-Suir; Nenagh College; Newport College; Scoil Ruáin, Killenaule; St Ailbe’s, Tipperary Town.

Each student was presented with an award and a certificate for their achievements in the following categories: Best Leaving Certificate, Best Leaving Certificate Applied, Best Personal Achievement and Best Sporting Achievement.

This evening celebrated the collaborative efforts of students, teachers and schools to achieve continuous improvement and excellence in academic studies and personal development.

Parents and guardians were thanked for the significant role they play in the achievements of these special students.