Roscrea Stands Up salutes young stars

RSU recognises all those who work to make Roscrea a better place

Roscrea Stands Up salutes young stars

Roscrea Stands Up (RSU) honoured all those young people who have worked tirelessly to make the town a better place in which to live, at an awards evening in the Racket Hall Hotel last Friday.

RSU was established by Derek Russell to help the town combat the growing scourge of drugs. And since its inception in 2014, the grassroots movement has helped spearhead a rejuvenation of Roscrea and its hinterland.

On Friday, Roscrea Stands Up presented its annual Roscrea Youth Awards 2015/16 Recipients with certificates of achievement, honouring young people who have made a difference in their community, be it through sport, art, voluntary work, or education.

The award recipients are: 1) Theresa Larkin School of Music - The Kilmartin Family -Dylan, Katie, Conor, and Ava 2) Roscrea Youth Service - Jack Keeshan

3) St. Anne's Special Olympic Club & St. Anne's Special School - Elaine Keeshan

4) Roscrea Golf Club - Clodagh Jones

5) Roscrea United FC - Joe Devereux

6) Killavilla United AFC - Under 13s North Tipp Premier League Champions -Kenny Lee, Luke Sacey, Sean Harnett, Nathan Carroll, Dylan Hogan, Jamie Boland, David McLoughlin, Dylan Buckley, Caelim Murphy, DJ McLoughlin, Kyle Murphy, Conor Dooley, Dominic Moraczeck, Scott Peason, Joe Brooks, Conor O'Sullivan

7) Cardiac Responders - Dylan Wright

8) Ros Cré Darts League - Chris Kennell & David Brosnan

9) Roscrea Hurling Club - Shane Fletcher

10) Country Club Badminton - William Cummins

11) Saint Vincent de Paul (St. Cronan's Parish) - Zoe Gleeson

12) Inane Rovers Gaelic Football Club Roscrea - Colman Treacy

13) 6th Tipperary Roscrea Scouts - Aisling Shaw

14) Murray School of Music - Avril Bryan

15) Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Éireann (Roscrea Branch) - Daniel Coonan

16) St. Cronans Camoige Club - U14 County Community Games Champions

-Sonita Wynne Doran, Emma Kennedy, Theresa Maher, Caitlin Carroll, Caoimhe Flannery, Claire Carey, Kate Hogan, Sharon Shanahan, Courtney Wright, Leanne Marshall, Cally Dooley, Andrea Kiernan, Amy Phelan, Elsie Moloney, Kailyn Egan, Emma Conlon

St. Cronans Camogie Club - Junior B County Champions

-Carly Wright, Emma Kealy, Colette Meagher, Sinead Delaney, Rachel Carey, Megan Flynn, Kate McCarthy, Laura Booth, Caoimhe Tierney, Aoife Moloney, Megan Ryan, Louise O'Brien, Laura Spencer, Chloe Kirwan, Casey McEvoy, Emma O'Reilly, Emily Maher, Aoife Booth, Roisin Guidera, Caroline King, Brenda Wright, Grainne McNicholas, Emma Wright, Laura Coughlan, Patricia Crowley

17) Cistercian College Roscrea - Leinster Senior Cup 2015 -Alan Tynan, Simon Meagher & Kyle Cahir

18) Roscrea Rugby Club - Jack Delaney

19) Special Merit Award - Alan Tynan

20) Roscrea Youth Club - Anne Delaney (Hall of Fame)

21) Inane Rovers - Jack Pyne (Hall of Fame)

22) Country Badminton - Monty & Triona Franks (Hall of Fame)

23) Roscrea Tennis Club - Gail O'Meara (Hall of Fame)

24) Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Éireann (Roscrea Branch) - Michael Ryan (Hall of Fame). The members of RSU would like to congratulate all the recipients who received awards in the Racket Hall. "You're the only one who can make the difference. Whatever your dream is go for it" - Magic Johnson

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.