Opportunities for Tipp householders


Opportunities for Tipp householders

Grants of 35% and 80% are still available for homes seeking insulation, stoves and boilers for their homes under funding secured by Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative (ECTC).

Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative (ECTC) is a not-for-profit community-run company set up between a number of Tipperary voluntary parish groups to create community benefit through insulation and energy efficiency schemes.

Our main website is The goal of these community-run schemes is to save energy and create work in the area.

For the 3rd year running, ECTC has secured funding from SEAI for INSULATION and ENERGY EFFICIENCY work. It is open to all homes in Tipperary and neighbouring areas. Works to be complete by October 14th 2016. Since then the community volunteers have been hard at work, project manager Marcella Maher Keogh has been in contact with householders, and our approved contractors have been surveying the work to be done.

Under the SEAI funding, there is an 80% grant for people in receipt of Fuel Allowance, Family income support, One parent families and Job seekers allowance for over six months with children under the age of seven. 35% grants are available for all other householders looking to do the following measures under SEAI’s BETTER ENERGY COMMUNITY INSULATION SCHEME. SEAI is the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland.

The energy efficiency measures include: Attic Insulation/Cavity wall insulation, External wall insulation, Condensing Oil / Gas boilers, Room Heater Stoves ( no back boilers), Heating control upgrades & Climotes, Chimney Draught Limiters.

A number of examples are given below of approximate costs, and grant back to the householders. These upgrades are based on a whole house solution and not just one room in your house being upgraded. Should you require more information please contact the project manager - Marcella Maher Keogh on 086 1080356 or email or apply online :

Windows & Doors only allowed under 80% when getting external insulation. Houses requesting 2 or more measures will be prioritised.

The Participating communities in Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative are:

Drombane Upperchurch: (Chairperson – Noel Byrne); Kilcommon Rearcross: (Chairperson – Noel McMahon); Lorrha Rathcabbin (Chairperson – Alan Madden); Birdhill: (Chairperson – Aileen Campion); Carrig Riverstown: (Chairperson – John Smith); Cloughjordan: (Chairperson –Tom Killackey); Borrisokane: (Chairperson – Miriam Lewis); Loughmore Castleiney: (Chairperson – Mike Connolly) .

This initiative is assisted by North Tipperary LEADER Partnership, with bridging finance provided by Clann Credo, the Social Investment Fund. Advice is provided by Tipperary Energy Agency. Overall funding provided by *Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI). Our Energy Supplier Partner on the Project is Electric Ireland.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.