13 Aug 2022

Students Awards Day at Patrician Presentation secondary school in Fethard

Students Awards Day at Patrician Presentation secondary school in Fethard

The Patrician Presentation Secondary School’s Annual Award’s Day and the Opening Mass of the School Year were held in the school hall on Friday, October 28.

Invited guest on the day was Noel McGrath, Tipperary senior hurler and All-Ireland medal winner. Also present were members of the school’s Board of Management, Parents’ Association, local Primary School principal, Mrs Tríona Morrisson, and parents of award winning pupils. On behalf of the school, student Dylan Fenlon welcomed guests to this year’s Awards Ceremony.

Canon Tom Breen P.P. and Fr. Gerry Horan OSA concelebrated the Mass with music from the school choir, directed by Ms Megan Raggett.

Special guest Tipperary Hurler, Noel McGrath, presenting the Student of the Year Award for 1st/2nd Year to Rachel O'Loughnan.

Mr O’Sullivan congratulated all the award winners and their parents and thanked all those who helped in any way to organise the Awards’ Ceremony, in particular the organising committee. He then invited Mr Noel McGrath to address the students and all present.

Noel spoke to the students about the importance of never giving up and always trying your best even when you feel like you’re not good enough. He spoke of times he felt like giving up hurling but came back, worked hard on self-belief and achieved his goal of playing for Tipperary and winning an All-Ireland medal and three Munster medals.

After his enlightening talk Noel started proceedings by presenting the Students of the Year awards to: 1st/2nd Year, Rachel O’Loughnan; 2nd/3rd Year, Laura Kiely; 5th/6th Year, Sadhbh Horan.

The Bishop Delaney Award for the best Leaving Cert Results 2016 was presented to Orla Walsh who achieved 530 points and is now studying Agriculture in UCD. Attendance and Punctuality Certificates were presented to Michelle Cronin (1st Year), Hollie Broomfield and Liam Hickey (2nd Year), Lucy Whyte (3rd Year), Emma Cronin (4th Year), Ciara Hayes (5th Year).

Special guest Tipperary Hurler, Noel McGrath, presenting the Student of the Year Award for 2nd/3rd Year to Laura Kiely.

Mentors Badges were presented to: Emma Cronin, Mark Hayde, Dylan Lyons, Amy O’Donovan, Shauna O’Neill, Kathleen McCarthy, Adam Dorney and Carly Tobin.

The Padraig Pearse Award for the best results in Irish, History and English in this year’s Junior Cert was presented to Lucy Whyte by principal, Mr Michael O’Sullivan. The Timmy O’Connor ‘Spirit of the School Award’, presented by his daughter, Rita Kenny, was won by Amy Byrne. Transition Year's 'Adam O'Donnell Enterprise Award', was presented by Sue Anne O'Donnell (mother of the late Adam) to winning team: Carly Tobin, Shauna O'Neill and Emma Cronin.

Special guest Tipperary Hurler, Noel McGrath, presenting the Student of the Year Award for 5th/6th Year to Sadhbh Horan.

Paddy Broderick Award for the best Junior Cert Results in Geography: Amy Byrne. Marian Gilpin LAM (Literary, Music and Arts) Award: Molly O’Meara. Fethard Quill Writers Award: Darragh Hurley. Sports Awards sponsored by AIB Fethard: Allison Connolly and Liam Quigley.

The VAI (Volleyball Association of Ireland) refereeing course certificates were presented by Ms Helena Walsh and Mr Justin McGree to Laura O'Donnell, Laura Kiely, Keith Morrissey, Darragh Hurley, Robert Hackett, Caoimhe O'Meara, Lucy Spillane and Eric Costin.

Transition Year's 'Adam O'Donnell Enterprise Award', presented to winning team 'Jar Latte' by Adam's mother to L to R: Carly Tobin, Shauna O'Neill, Sue Anne O'Donnell (mother of the late Adam) and Emma Cronin.

Student Council Certificates: 2nd Year, Michelle Cronin and Patrick Shine; 3rd Year, Lucy Spillane and Keith Morrissey; 4th Year, Shannon Cantwell and Gavin Mullally; 5th Year, Emma Cronin and Liam Quigley; 6th Year, Aisling Geoghegan and Dylan Fenlon.

Special Achievement in Art awards were presented to Lucy Whyte, Shannon Cantwell and Amy Byrne. The great ‘Bake Off’ award was presented to Eve Judge by Ms Marie Maher and the ‘Materials Technology Award’ was presented to Noelle O’Meara by Mr John Cummins.

The ceremony concluded with light refreshments for all visitors and guests.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.