Breaking: Councillor Sean Ryan elected Chairman of the Templemore Thurles Municipal District

Noel Dundon


Noel Dundon


New CCTV scheme to be rolled out soon in Littleton, Co. Tipperary

Elected Chairman of the Templemore Thurles Municipal District.

The Fianna Fail councillor, only two years on the council, will be the First Citizen of the District for the next year

Fianna Fail Councillor Sean Ryan has been unanimously elected Chairman of the Templemore Thurles Municipal District Council at this mornings AGM having received full backing of the members having been proposed by Cllr Michael Smith and seconded by Cllr Joe Bourke.

The Littleton man, who is only on the council for two years,  follows in the distinguished footsteps of the late Cllr Harry Ryan whom he namechecked in his acceptance speech, and said that the day is a very proud one for his family, his community and his parish.

Outlining a number of projects which he hopes to advance during his term of office, he mentioned the securing of a replacement industry for Bord na Mona in Littleton as being top of his priority. The former pupil of Littleton NS and Thurles CBS Secondary School, also mentioned the securing of additional funding for rural roads and the advancement of projects in Thurles, Templemore and Roscrea towns as well as rural communities.

"Cllr Seamus Hanafin set the template as to how this role should be carried out and I hope to follow in his footsteps. I look forward to working with all the councillors and the officials and I can assure you all of my complete respect and impartiality," said Cllr Ryan who is a teacher in Rockwell College.

Cllr John Hogan was elected Vice Chairman of the council having been proposed by Cllr Joe Bourke and seconded by Cllr Seamus Hanafin.