04 Oct 2022

Cllr Michael O'Meara elected cathaoirleach of Nenagh District Council

Cllr Michael O'Meara elected cathaoirleach of Nenagh District Council

Cllr Michael O'Meara: new cathaoirealach of Nenagh Municipal District Council

Independent Lowry Team councillor Michael O'Meara has been elected unopposed as the incoming cathaoirleach of Nenagh Municipal District Council at this Thursday's Nenagh MDC annual meeting.

Cllr O'Meara, from Lower Ormond, replaces fellow Independent Cllr Seamus Morris.

Cllr O'Meara was nominated by Cllr Hughie McGrath, Independent, and seconded by Cllr Morris.

Cllr Ger Darcy of Fine Gael was elected unopposed as leas-chathaoirleach.

He was proposed by Cllr John "Rocky" McGrath, Independent Lowry Team, and seconded by Cllr John Carroll of Fianna Fáil.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.