Tipperary football legend wins Vice Captain's Prize at Slievenamon Golf Club


Tipperary football legend wins Vice Captain's Prize at Slievenamon Golf Club

Then chairman of the South Tipp GAA Board Hugo Browne, presenting Dinny Burke with a Hall of Fame Award in 2019. Dinny will be inducted into the Slievenamon HoF one of these days!

Another busy week at Slievenamon, with golfers coming out to the Club in droves as they take advantage of the fine weather to get in a few rounds, while Paul Kenny nurtures and nourishes the greens to ensure they don’t wilt under the molten sky.
The calendar is now chock full of competitions, with the new mixed competition on Monday nights providing lots of fun as well as some great golf.
In the same week the R & A launched its #FOREanyone campaign to encourage more ladies and girls into golf, the ladies at Slievenamon had a great week.
First off, we had the McGarry Cup competition, which was won by Ann O’Dea, a true lady and a very popular winner.
Then at the weekend, we had our ladies teams teeing off against Thurles in the quarter-finals of the Minor Cup and the Challenge Cup.
Our Minor Cup team emerged victorious after a bruising contest with Thurles and are now readying themselves for the semi-finals. Thurles got the better of our Challenge Cup team, but still our girls put in a fantastic display.
It was a great day all told and everyone performed with true heart.
Both teams are a true testament to the spirit of generosity and collegiality that is a hallmark of our ladies club, and epitomised by Lady Captain Teresa O'Brien.

Vice-Captain’s Prize
The other big competition last weekend was the Vice Captain's Prize, which saw an excellent turnout in support of Tony Condon and some fantastic golf played, with GAA legend Denis (Dinny) Burke emerging victorious from a very competitive field.
Form is temporary but class is permanent. Well done to Dinny.

Men's Vice Captains Prize held on Saturday and Sunday, July 10 and 11
Overal Winner , Denis Burke, 45 (10)
Gross, Paul Wynne, 37 (8)
2nd, Rory Doherty, 45 (20)
3rd, James Lonergan, 43 (26)
4th, Danny Keogh, 43 (18)

Slievenamon Open Qualifier on Friday, July 9
Overall Winner, Kieran O'Dwyer, 45 (29)
2nd, Ciaran Bolton, 38 (18)
3rd, John J Kelly, 38 (12)
4th , Jackie O'Dwyer, 36 (27) C/B Last 6

Ann O’Dea being presented with the McGarry Cup by Pat McGarry following her win at Slievenamon Golf Club recently

McGarry Cup held on July 11 and 13
1st, Ann O’Dea, 63 (34)
2nd, Margo Condon, 64 (28)
3rd, Teresa O’Brien, 67 (28)
Gross , Majella Smyth, 91 (21)
Front 9, Marian Power, 44 (25)
Back 9, Ellen O’Connor, 46 (20)
12 Hole Stableford on July 15
1st, Ellen O'Connor, 28 (13)
2nd, Kathleen Strang, 27 (28)

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.