All Ireland gold, silver and bronze for Bernie

Clonmel AC

Clonmel AC

Tullamore was the venue for the All Ireland Masters Track and Field Championships last Saturday. Bernard O’Neill competed in the over 60 category winning a Gold, Silver and Bronze All Ireland medals with brilliant performances.

In the Long Jump he put in a very good array of attempts, his best of 3.40m winning the Gold medal. Then he turned his attention to the 100m and here he ran a brilliant race, getting out of the blocks fast and maintaining the strong tempo to win the Silver medal, just edged out close to the line for the ultimate Gold. Then in the 200m he also ran very well when winning the Bronze medal. These were brilliant performances by Bernie and he lavished great praise on Albert Doyle for his advice and coaching in the Long Jump. Indeed in the Long Jump Bernie won the County, Munster and All Ireland titles in this event.

Great performances in Boston Scientific Half

The Club promoted a very successful Boston Scientific half marathon last Sunday with ideal running conditions. The Club would like to thank everyone who helped to make the event such a brilliant success. Indeed it was great to see so many of our members perform so well over this distance and indeed for many of them it was their maiden voyage over this Classic distance. The Club would like to thank Club members, Gary Grant, Dick O’Gorman, Tommy Cahill, Aine Roche, Brendan Coffey, Miriam O’Gorman, Nicola Maunsell and Annette Morrissey for organising the pacing groups; they were very much appreciated by all the athletes.

Angela McCann underlined her standing as one of Ireland’s top athletes when winning the Ladies race in a new course record of 80 mins 32 secs, brilliant running. Then we had Vasiliy Neumerzhitskiy also running very well when finishing 2nd 0/45 in 81:45. Vasiliy has put in some solid performances over the shorter distances in recent weeks. We also had great performances from athletes like Larry Martin 20th in 82:47, improving on last year’s run by 5 mins 24 secs, Brian Long 22nd 83:33, Brendan Ahearne winning the over 50 award in 85:40, improving on last year’s run by 62 secs, Ciaran Fahey 34th in 86:43, improving on last year’s run by 4 mins 57 secs, Eoin McGrath 36th 86:43, Mark Corcoran 46th 88:04, Brian Looram 51st 88:27, Dick O’Gorman 64th 89:45, Gary Grant 65th 90:04, Brian Carroll 90th 94:27, Tom Bourke 94th 94:48 improving on last year’s run by 4 mins 9 secs, Francis Connolly 104th 95:47, Kate Wall 2nd over 35 in 99:32, Rene van deer Poort 129th 99:29, John Laste 130th 99:35, improving on last year’s run by 30 secs, Cyril Fogarty 138th 99:51, Andrew McHale 153rd 101:52 improving on last year run by 4 mins 19 secs, Ivan Barlow 155th 101:54, improving on last year’s performance by a massive 17 mins 8 secs, Tommy Cahill 174th 103:52, Aine Roche 175th 103:53, Michael Lauhoff 184th 105:01, Donna Nagle 185th 105:02, Adrian Lonergan 191st 106:14, Tom Halley 203rd 106:59, Suzanne Shine 207th 107:52, Edel Roche 219th 109:40, Marianne Kennedy 224th 110:11, Lizzie Ryan 239th 111:47, Derek Pyke 260th 115:44, Kay Pyke 263rd 115:54, Una Redfern 264th 115:54, Marcella Sheehy 265th 115:57, Garry Hallinan 270th 117:17, Benny Walsh 272nd 117:16, Tom Barry 278th 117:57, Brendan Coffey 283rd 118:20, Sandra Williams 287th 118:36, Miriam O Gorman 289th 118:46, Sean O Dea 297th 120:42, Orla Durand 298th 120:46, Denise Donnelly 305th 121:43, Michael Doocey 306th 121:59, Marion O’Neill 312th 123:28, Ger McDonald 313rd 123:26, Joan Guidera 314th 123:26, Paddy Brady 317th 124:12 improving on last year’s run by 1 min 51 secs, Norma Sorohan 318th 124:08, Regina Burke 319th 124:09, Emmett Askins 324th 125:29, Deirdre Healy 325th 125:43, Anne Maher 328th 127:27, Rhona Boyle 340th 128:55, Breeda Marnane 342nd 129:42 improving on last year’s run by a very impressive 18 mins 52 secs, Michelle Lauhoff 345th 129:57, Emma Norris 356th 133:32, T J O’Loughlin 357th 133:44, Teppan Stine 359th 134:09, Ger Phelan 360th 134:13, Judy Newman 361st 134:12, Annette Morrissey 365th 135:25, Annette Butler 368th 135:50, Nicola Maunsell 369th 135:45, Melissa McCarthy 371st 136:23, Georgina Gilligan 375th 138:34, pat Phelan 383rd 143:20, Lena Griffin 386th 145:45, Pierce Purcell 396th 154:46, Julette O’Sullivan 398th 144:12 and Ollie McGee 399th in 164:09. Indeed well done to all our athletes from the Monday night training sessions who ran so well for what was their first attempt at this distance, roll on 2013.