Powerstown-Lisronagh top area at girls swimming finals

Community Games

Community Games

Tom O’Ceallaigh rallied his troops of family, friends and members of Clonmel Swimming Club who all did a super job co-ordinating the county finals of the swimming championships which went like clockwork in Clonmel pool on Sunday last.

Young ladies from all over the county took part.

Powerstown-Lisronagh won four gold and four silver medals. Nell McCarthy had her competitors in great form with the Whelan sisters Siobhan and Moya and the Hurley sisters Megan and Isabel responsible for the gold.

Thurles won four gold, two silver and one bronze, Cashel Rosegreen won three gold, two silver and one bronze while Kilsheelan-Kilcash won two gold, two silver and a bronze medal.

Results show there was a wide distribution of medals with very few areas leaving empty handed which is what the games are all about.

Thanks to Margaret Burke-Hogan, South Tipperary Community Games CE Supervisor, for her valuable services, to all area managers, to the Manager and staff at Clonmel Pool and everybody who contributed to the success of this very competitive event.

All winners will now represent County Tipperary at the National Finals of the HSE Community Games in Athlone Regional Sports Centre on the weekend of May 24 to 26. They are now requested to please send a copy of their birth certificate and a passport type photograph to their area secretary if they have not been to the national finals before. The County Final of the Boys events will take place in Clonmel on Sunday, March 3. Closing date for entries with tomoceallaigh@eircom.net is February 24.

Freestyle Events.

Under 8, Anna Movchan, Cashel-Rosegreen; Kate Ryan, Ballinahinch-Killoscully; Daria Maher, Moycarkey-Borris

Under 10, Megan Hurley, Powerstown Lisronagh; Ana Li Diggins, Kilsheelan Kilcash; Sophie Harris, Thurles

Under 12, Siobhan Whelan, Powerstown Lisronagh; Lucy Murphy, Cashel-Rosegreen; Kelly Ann Gilleece, Moycarkey Borris Under 14, Moya Whelan, Powerstown Lisronagh; Sinead O’Dwyer, Ballina Boher; Jenny O’Brien, Cashel Rosegreen

Under 16, Meadbh Meehan Gray, Thurles; Niamh O’Sullivan Powerstown Lisronagh; Aoibheen Rainford, Ballina-Boher


Under 10, Isabel Hurley, Powerstown Lisronagh; Grainne Joyce, Powerstown Lisronagh; Isobel Maher, Fethard Killusty Under 12

Sarah Ni Cheallaigh, St Olivers, Clonmel; Ellen Buckley, Powerstown Lisronagh; Sinead Owens, Kilsheelan Kilcash

Under 14, Niamh Owens, Kilsheelan Kilcash; Lily Clements, Clerihan; Norma Kennedy, Cahir

Under 16, Kate O’Flynn, Cashel Rosegreen; Marcelina Zalwicka, Thurles


Under 12, Suparee (Lena) Kordonis, St Peter and Pauls, Clonmel; Siobhan O’Meara, Grangemockler Ballyneale; Tasha Tully, Moycarkey Borris Under 14, Amy McGrath, Thurles; Abaigeal Maher, Fethard Killusty; Zoe Stokes, Fethard Killusty


Under 14, Kate Hanafin, Thurles; Lucy O’Brien, Cashel Rosegreen

Under16, Katelyn Owens, Kilsheelan Kilcash; Hannah Dooley, Thurles; Eilish Kennedy, CahirSquads: Under 13.

Cashel-Rosegreen, Aoibhinn Fanning, Jenny O’Brien, Lucy O’Brien, Faye Dowling, Lucy Murphy

Powerstown Lisronagh, Ellen Buckley, Moya Whelan, Siobhan Whelan, Lauren Hurley, Ava Collins

Ballinahinch Killoscully, Blathnaid Ryan, Aimee Hadye, Sarah Finn, Brid O’Keeffe, Roisin Power.

Under 16.

Thurles, Hannah Dooley, Meadhbh Meehan Grey, Katie Hanafin, Amy McGrath, Marcelina Zalinilka, Sophie Harris.

Indoor Soccer.

The South Finals of the Boys Indoor Soccer Competitors took place in Moyle Park Sports Complex, Lisronagh, Clonmel also on Sunday last.

The under 10 event was won by Moycarkey Borris who defeated Lattin Cullen.

Moycarkey: Cillian McDonagh, Dillon Ryan, Stephen Walsh, Sean Brittan, Peter Dillon Cathal Corcoran, Donacha James Troy, John Lanigan. Manager Rory Dillon

Lattin Cullen: T.J. Moloney, Mark O’Brien, Darragh Buckley, Robert Mullins, Daniel Moloney, Adam Lohan. Manager Brendan Lohan.

The under 12 event was won by Lattin Cullen who held off a strong challenge from St Mary’s, Clonmel.

Newport completed a hat trick at the finals in North Tipperary winning the girls under 10, girls under 12 and boys under 12 while St Flannans won the boys under 10 event.

Date for County Final to be decided hopefully at the next county board meeting which will take place in Hayes Hotel, Thurles on this Wednesday, February 13. Executive meeting at 8pm and general meeting will commence at 8.30pm. We hope all areas will make a big effort to attend.

The County Final of the Cross Country will take place in Thurles Crokes A.C. this coming Sunday, February 17 commencing at 2pm. Entries will be taken on the day.

Duathlon final is in Newport also on Sunday next, February 17, enquiries to nyinteriors@live.ie