Clonmel Golf Club



A total of 150 players paid tribute to the President, Mr. Peter Hayes, by turning up to play in the qualifying rounds on Friday and Saturday and then the leading 80 plus players (and ladies and past presidents and guests) went on to compete in the Final on Sunday. The weather did its best to disrupt the weekend - and cause a few missed heart beats - especially on Saturday when the “Course Closed” sign had to go up that morning after a night of very heavy rain. However, thanks to our magnificent course staff and course manager the sign came down at 8 a.m. and the competition got under way in earnest and concluded with a fantastic 42 points scored by Emmet Pyke who took the first prize by a single point. Emmet played the first nine in 2 over par for a great 21 stableford points and was well on track to take his first ‘Major’ when he stood on the 17th tee with 39 points. However, disaster struck on this par three 17th when he couldn’t find his ball to the right of the green which had become quite soft of late and he was unable to score even a single point off of a second ball. Guessing he needed at least a par on the par 5 eighteenth to have a chance of winning he brilliantly put his second shot on the green and had a comfortable two putts for a birdie which gave him three valuable Stableford points and 42 overall to win by a single shot from the back to back Donoughmore Cup winner John Molloy in second place with the fastly improving Colm Galvin 2 shots further back in third. A very enjoyable night was held in the club on Sunday night where the magnificent prizes were presented to all of the prize winners


The President’s (Mr. Peter Hayes) Prize     

1st    Emmet Pyke (11)    42 pts

2nd John Molloy (11)    41 pts

3rd     Colm Galvin (16)    39 pts B9

Gross    Trevor Creed (4)    30pts

4th    Shane O’Keeffe (11)    39 pts

Senior    Liam Flynn (14)    36 B9

Best Qualifier    TJ Lyons (13)    39 pts B9

Past President    Tom Renehan (17)    36 pts

Visitor Eamon McKeown

Bulmers Open Singles Tuesday 31st August

1st  Liam Hickey (8)    36 pts

2nd Richie Whelan (3)    34 pts

3rd Colin Condon, Slievenamon, (7) 33 pts


Captain’s (Mr. Patsy O’Keeffe) Prize

On Saturday & Sunday next, 11th & 12th August we will play the qualifying rounds of the Captain’s Prize with 45 plus equals to qualify for the Final 18 holes on the following Saturday, August 19th. Scores from the qualifying will carry forward to the final 18 holes and it is expected that the leading qualifiers will go out last.

Bulmers Open Singles

Bulmers 18 holes stableford Open singles continues on Tuesday and every Tuesday until the beginning of October (not far off now).

Munster Under 15s & Under 17s Championships

The Munster under 15s & under 17s Championships will be played at Clonmel Golf Club on Thursday next 9th August when 150 boys from all over the country will try their hardest to become the champion and you can guarantee that some of these will go onto become the professionals of the future!

Captain’s Prize

Saturday and Sunday, August 10th & 11th will see the qualifiers being played for the Captain’s (Mr. Patsy O’Keeffe) Prize. Scores from the qualifying will carry forward and the final will be played on Saturday August 18th (more next week)

Tuesday next, 31stJuly, and every Tuesday until early October is the Bulmers sponsored Open Singles.

Club Classic

The Club Classic will be held in Clonmel Golf Club on Thursday & Friday, 30th & 31st August. Timesheets are posted up in the bar and times are available, contact 052-6124050 for times. Please support your club and enter a team.

Junior Boys Golf

Jack Kennedy wins Presidents (Mr Peter Hayes) prize to the Juniors. Sincere thanks to Mr Peter Hayes for his generous sponsorship.

18 Hole Presidents Prize Competition

1st Jack Kennedy (18) 37pts

2nd Glen Cullinane (28) 34pts

3rd Colm Galvin (16) 33pts B9

4th Colm Tobin (26) 33pts

12 Hole Competition

1st Aidan Tobin 23pts

On Friday 10th August Junior Boys will be competing for Prizes sponsored by our Club Professional Mr Robert Hayes.


President’s Prize Day, Mr. Peter Hayes, was very well attended and thankfully the weather was more favourable than recently:

1st Gemma Murphy (14) 39pts, 2nd Eleanor Devaney (35) 37pts, Gross Gemma Mc Carthy (6) 36pts, 3rd Catherine Morrissey (7) 35pts , 4th Helen O’ Donoghue (12) 34pts.

Congratulations to the Miele team who overcame The Heath (Portlaoise) on Thursday last in the semi final competition. The weekly Wednesday competition was again cancelled due to poor weather conditions. Monday 30th July 12 hole 3 person scramble: 1st Helen Doyle, Roisin Quinlivan and Eleanor Devaney 45.4pts.


Saturday 11th and Wednesday 15th August Open 3 ball scramble, kindly sponsored by Eldons. 12 hole FBD hotel group qualifier, 2 cards to count. This competition will cease mid August.