Munster Star Award for Brian Murphy

Carrick Road Runners

Carrick Road Runners

Congratulations to club member, Brian Murphy, who collected a Munster Star Award in the Men’s Novice Cross-Country category at the awards function in Rathkeale House Hotel last week.

The award was very well-deserved as Brian had a great year in 2012 with some outstanding performances in cross-country and on the roads. All in the club wish Brian another successful year in 2013.

John Treacy 10-mile race

The annual John Treacy 10-mile road race once again saw a huge field of athletes make their way to Dungarvan for what has become one of the most popular races on the calendar. The men’s race was won by Gary O’Hanlon (Clonliffe Harriers) in 51:21. Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC) was the winner of the ladies’ race in 57:35.

Carrick AC was well represented in the race and it was Tommy Falconer (58:41) who just pipped Patrick Roche (58:42) to be our first finisher. Our first lady across the line was Martina O’Dwyer in 63:26.

Other Carrick AC finishers were:

Michael O’Connell (62:55), Michael O’Sullivan (64:13), Andrew Downey (64:16), Vinny Murray (74:03), Emer O’Brien (80:07), Niamh Clifford (83:07), Bernie Sexton (83:56), Elaine Walsh (87:09), Brian Nugent (89:10), Geraldine Houlihan (89:51), Aisling Skerritt (89:52)


Fit-4-Life training sessions continue every Tuesday evening at Kildalton College, Piltown, starting at 7pm. These sessions are ideal for newcomers to running as there is always plenty of good advice on offer from our more experienced runners.All are welcome and remember to wear a hi-viz jacket or bib for safety.

County Novice Championships

The Tipperary Novice Road Championships will take place in Clonmel on Sunday, February 17 at 12 noon. The ladies’ race is over 3km and the men’s race is over 6km.