Derek Nolan wins Munster silver medal over 50

At the Munster Master Cross Country Championships Derek Nolan won the over 50 Silver medal.

At the Munster Master Cross Country Championships Derek Nolan won the over 50 Silver medal.

Derek is running very well at present and on last Sunday he put in a great last lap to win silver.

Clonmel AC also had Paudie O’Keeffe running very well when finishing 5th in a very competitive over 40 category.

The 5th race of the 4k series was held in ideal conditions and we witnessed some great performances as athletes took full advantage of the conditions. The race format was “Predict your Finishing times” and the winners were Eddy O’Donoghue, James Denn, John Laste, Emmet Prendergast, Daniel Kennedy, Pat Tobin, Bernie Hopkins, Jacqueline Reidy and Moira Molloy. These Prizes can be collected when registering for Race 6 next week. Once again the Club would like to thank the Civil Defence for looking after the First Aid and thanks also to the many members who once again done a great job in ensuring the whole event was such a success.

Every athlete that competes in 3 of these 6 races will win a hat, they can collect their prize at the 6th Race when registering. We have got a brilliant response to this prize with 136 athletes already having participated in at least 3 races while we have another 49 athletes who need to run in the 6th race to win their Prize, a total of 185 athletes, fantastic when you have that level of consistent participation. This year with 5 races finished 239 athletes have competed in at least one race, brilliant.

Race 5 was won very convincingly by Irish International Derek Nolan in 14 mins 38 secs with Fergal O’Callaghan 2nd in 15 mins 3 secs and Niall O Ceallaigh 3rd man in 15 mins 9 secs. Angela McCann was first lady in 15 mins 7 secs with Donna Nagle 2nd in 18 mins 17 secs and Angela Walsh 3rd in 18 mins 42 secs. This win by Derek makes him the first over 50 to win this race, the oldest winner in town, well done Derek.

Race 6 is the Charity race, where there will be three Prizes on offer, one for each Group and there will be a Lucky Dip Draw on Finishing positions. This year we are honouring Tony Slacks Ryan, a prominent officer of the Club in the early 80s who died recently after a long illness. All funds collected at this 4K will go to Hospice, a very worthy cause, so the more participants; the more funds can be raised for this Worthy cause. There is no entry fee; all donations will be accepted on the night for this worthy cause. For further enquiries, please contact Niall O’Sullivan at 086 1660888.

The Club’s Annual General Meeting took place in Moynihan’s last week. Secretary Dee Collins gave a very detailed account of the year’s activities both on and off the Track. There were also very good reports from Mary Doyle, Competition Secretary and Register, Niall O’Sullivan, PRO and Paula Dwan who informed the meeting that the Club finances were in good order. Chairman Frank Lynch thanked all his fellow Officers for all their help during what was a very good competitive year for the Club. He also thanked our Sponsors, Boston Scientific, Bulmers and Morrison BMW for all their help and assistance during the year. He made special reference to all our athletes, Juvenile, Senior and Masters for all their achievements during the year and he also highlighted the major achievements of our International athletes in 2013. For the incoming Management Committee he set a target for them to further enhance our Club facilities.

The Management Committee for 2014 is as follows:

Chairman: Frank Lynch; Vice Chairperson: Nicola Maunsell;Secretary: Dee Collins; Competition Secretary/ Register: Mary Doyle; Treasurer: Paula Dwan; Ass. Treasurer: Conor Fleming; PRO: Niall O’Sullivan

Committee: Albert Doyle, Nora Palazzo, Donna Nagle, Sareen Walsh, Tony McCarthy, Anthony Moynihan, Angela McCann, Niall O Ceallaigh, Donal Casey, Brian Carroll, Ivan Barlow and Cyril Fogarty.

There were three Motions passed and they were:

1.Elect a Senior Ladies Coordinator and in the election Angela McCann was elected.

2.Elect a Senior Men’s Coordinator and here Ivan Barlow was elected.

3.Membership Fees for 2014 were decided and they were: Juveniles 15 Euros and Senior 30 Euros and these membership fees become due on January 1.

At the Munster Juvenile B Cross Country Championships last Sunday, in the Girls under 9 race Lily Grace ran very well when finishing 3rd to win the Bronze medal. In the Boys under 9 Mark Corcoran ran very well when finishing 17th in a very competitive race. In the Girls under 11 Caoimhe Walsh should be very pleased with her performance when finishing strongly in 52nd. In the Boys under 11 Carlos Grace was 17th place. In the Girls under 13 we saw good performances from Orla Winston 20th, Hannah Berry 54th, Chloe Conway 72nd and Sophie Boyle 73rd. In the Boys under 13 Ben Durand and David Broderick were 28th and 48th respectively. In the Girls under 15 we saw Ciara O’Neill run a great race when winning the Bronze medal. This was a very good performance from Ciara who only joined the Club last September. We also saw Ciara Parker run very well when finishing 28th.

Double European Cross Country Champion Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) will lead the Irish Team at the 20th SPAR European Cross Country Championships which takes place in Belgrade, Serbia on December 8th.Our own Sean Tobin leads the charge in the Junior Men’s race after a storming victory at the National championships in Santry Park. Sean missed last year’s European championships due to illness and will be eager to impress in his last year as a junior.