County titles for Laura Burke and Patrick Roche

County Athletics

County Athletics

The County Novice B Cross Country Championships were hosted by Moyne Athletic Club near Lisheen Mines. Conditions were very demanding but the athletes made light work of it and produced two great races.

In the Ladies 3k race over 2 laps, Laura Burke of Coolquill made her intentions known from the start by going into the lead and setting a strong pace. She kept this up despite the wind and rain to come home a very worthy and convincing champion in 13 mins 14 secs. Ann Coughlan on the final lap increased the pace and came home to win Moore Abbey Milers first Individual medal at County Championship level in 13 mins 32 secs with Eileen Carey of Thurles Crokes winning the Bronze medal in 13 mins 40 secs. 4th was Ashling Maher (Moyne) 14:15, 5th Hazel Galloway (Clonmel) 14:20, 6th Breda McNamara (Moyne) 14:31, 7th Patricia Ryan (Moore Abbey Milers) 15:04, 8th Liz Power (Moyne) 15:37 and 9th Michelle Carey 16:29. In the team event with three to score both Moyne and Moore Abbey Milers had 18 points but on countback Moyne captured the title as their 3rd scorer was in ahead of the Moore Abbey Milers 3rd scorer.

The Men’s race 24 athletes representing 5 Clubs and here we also had a great race. Right from the start Dermot Logue (Coolquill) set the pace and soon opened up a nice lead on the chasing pack that included Patrick Roche (Carrick on Suir) the eventual winner, The Clonmel duo of Paudie O’Keeffe and Neil Fox as well as Andrew Smyth (Coolquill) and the Dundrum duo of Colm Bradshaw and Graham Butler. Going out on the 3rd lap Patrick had moved up to Dermot’s shoulder and soon took up the pace himself and was full of running. Patrick maintained this strong tempo to come home a very worthy and convincing champion and confirmed his place as favourite for this title, when crossing the finishing line in 21:11.

The race for the minor placings changed on the 3rd lap as Andrew Smyth came out of the chasing pack and having passed Dermot Logue, moved clear of him going out on the final lap to win the Silver medal in 21:31 with Dermot Logue battling back over the closing stages to win the Bronze medal in 21:49. Paudie O’Keeffe was 4th 22:03, 5th Colm Bradshaw (Dundrum) 22:10, Graham Butler (Dundrum) 22:19, 7th Neil Fox (Clonmel) 22:28, 8th Gerard O’Loughlin (Clonmel) 22:42, Joe Keaney (Coolquill) 23:09 and 10th Richard Daly (Moyne) 23:14. Richard was running on very familiar land as it was on his lands that these Championships took place and the County Board would like to thank him and indeed Moyne Athletic Club for hosting these Championships.

With three athletes to count Coolquill were the Champions on a score of 14 points with their team of Andrew, Dermot and Joe. The Clonmel trio of Paudie, Neil and Gerard won the Silver medal on 19 points. The Dundrum team of Colm, Graham and Brian Devitt who was 12th won the Bronze medals on 23 points. Coolquill B team was 4th on 42 points. 5th Moyne on 47 points and Thurles Crokes were 6th on 59 points.

The Inter County Cross Country Championships takes place this Sunday in Ratoath, Co Meath and it is great to see that the County will be represented in three of the four races. The teams are as follows:

Junior Men: Sean Tobin, Michael Carey, Evan Egan, Neil Fox, Aidan Cremin and Jack Allen (all Clonmel) and Patrick Hughes of Thurles Crokes.

Senior Ladies: Siobhan O’Doherty (Borrisokane), Martina O’Dwyer and Clare Annan (Carrick on Suir), Dymphna Ryan (Dundrum), Angela McCann, Johanna Lacy and Catherine Rice (all Clonmel) and Marie Fitzgibbon (Thurles Crokes)

Senior Men: Kevin Moore and John Shanahan (Dundrum), Kevin Maunsell, William Maunsell and Niall McCormack (all Clonmel), Shane Mullaney and Tony Fogarty (Thurles Crokes) and David Shelley (Ballynonty).