Moyne 5k the big event this Sunday

County Athletics

County Athletics

All roads lead to Moyne this Sunday for their 5k road race in aid of Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin. The entry fee is 10 Euros and entries will be taken at the Club’s complex. The race gets underway at 1pm. This is an ideal event for any athlete aiming to run well in the upcoming Road Championship races. Indeed athletes can keep in mind that this route will be used for the Novice B Road Championship later in the year.

Annerville Awards

These awards took place in Hotel Minella last Saturday night and it was great to see Athletes capturing two awards. Sean Tobin was selected for the Athletic Awards for all his fine achievements during 2012. Then we had Breeda Christie of Tipperary Town, President of our County Athletic Association, being honoured for her life time commitment to athletics when becoming the first recipient of the Life Time award presented for the first time this year. Both awards are richly deserved.

Munster Sports Star Awards

These awards took place in Rathkeale house Hotel last Saturday night and at Senior level the County won three awards. Kevin Moore of Dundrum was voted the Best under 23 Cross Country athlete while Brian Murphy of Carrick on Suir was voted the Best Novice Cross Country athlete and Angela McCann was voted as the Best Women Master athlete in 2012. These are three awards that were well deserved as all three athletes have represented their Clubs and County with distinction during 2012.

Road Season gets underway with Relays

The County outdoor season gets underway on Sunday, February 10 when the County Road relays takes place at 1 pm. Both the Women and Men’s race will start at 1pm and this year there will be a new course record set in the men’s race as the format was changed at the Annual General Meeting. At that meeting a motion was passed to have the Men’s relay distances the same as the Women’s that is 800M, 1500M, 800M and 3000M. The new format should make for a great competitive race. There can only be two Juniors on a team and they can only run in either the 800M or the 1500M legs.

Age Eligibility:  Athletes 18 years and over on the 31st of December in the Competition Year for the 3000m leg. 16 years and over (Junior athletes) on the 31st December in the Competition Year for the 800m & 1500m legs. Clubs can enter as many teams as they wish.  An “A” team must be nominated from these entries before the race start. All other teams entered will compete in the B Section.

In the Women’s race the defending Champions are Clonmel and once again they can call upon such athletes as Angela McCann, Aine Roche, Johanna Lacy, Fiona Barlow, Cliona Doyle and Donna Nagle. Dundrum on home soil will be a formidable force as they can call upon Dympna Ryan, Catherine Kelly, Claire Devitt and Mary Keane. Moyne is another Club that will have a major say in the destination of medals as they can call upon such athletes as Breda McNamara, Aisling Maher, Edel Leahy and Liz Power. Thurles Crokes will athletes like Marie Fitzgibbon, Martina Ryan, Nora Kennedy, and Mary Moloney will also go close. Carrick on Suir led by Martina O’Dwyer and Clare Annan could also figure among the medals. Moore Abbey Milers made a great impact on their performances in the Cross Country and Tom Blackburn will have them ready for this event.

In the Men’s race it should be competitive with the new format. The defending Champions are Dundrum and again they will be a force to be reckoned with as they have athletes like Kevin Moore, Michael Ryan, John Shanahan and Willie O’Dwyer to call upon. Clonmel will be looking to Kevin and William Maunsell along with Niall McCormack and possibly Sean Tobin to lead their charge and if that foursome does compete they will be firm favourites to win the title. Thurles Crokes who set the course record for the old distance will be hoping to win this new event and they can call upon William and Patrick Hughes along with Shane Mullaney and tony Fogarty. Carrick on Suir could also be a force to reckon with if they can get athletes like Tommy Falconer, Patrick Roche, David Waters to lead their team. Ballynonty are also strong as they can call upon David Shelly, Kenny Curran, Noel Ryan and Danny Smith. Coolquill will be looking to athletes like Andrew Smyth, Dermot Logue, John Russell and Joe Keaney to carry their colours to glory.

County Novice Road Championships

These Championships takes place in Clonmel on Sunday 17th February at 12 noon with the Women 3k followed by the Men’s 6K.