O’Doherty is crowned Munster champion for third time

County Athletics

County Athletics

Limerick racecourse was the venue for the Munster Senior and Junior Cross Country Championships.

In the Junior Girls race Orlaith Moynihan of Clonmel ran very well when winning the Bronze medal.

In the Senior Ladies race Siobhan O’Doherty of Borrisokane ran a brilliant race when winning the title in convincing fashion. This was a great performance by Siobhan who has trained well since the Inter Counties Cross Country in November and put in a brilliant performance to win this coveted title for the 3rd time having tasted success in 2008 and 2010. We also had Anne Marie Hayes of Moycarkey Coolcroo running well when finishing 27th.

In the Senior Men’s race the County was well represented even despite a few late withdrawals. Here a group of five athletes soon dictated the pace soon after the start and that group included debutant Kevin Maunsell (Clonmel), the current County Senior Champion who helped the leading group maintain a strong pace as he shared the lead on a number of occasions. Then at around 7k Jason Fahy of Clare moved clear with a group of three that included Kevin. Then over a hectic finish Kevin edged out Michael Shannon for the Silver medal with a brilliant performance. This was Cross Country at its best, plenty of twists and hills and Kevin produced a brilliant performance to win the Silver medal. Kevin Moore (Dundrum) also ran well when finishing 15th. Thurles Crokes duo Tony Fogarty and Shane Mullaney finishing 25th and 26th respectively with the

Clonmel duo of William Maunsell and Paudie O’Keeffe finishing 33rd and 41st respectively.

James Ryan of Dundrum also ran well when finishing 45th. In a very good Inter County competitive race Tipperary were edged out of the medals when finishing a very close 4th behind surprise winners, Clare.

County AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the County Board took place in the Horse and Jockey last week. Chairman, Billy Purcell thanked the Clubs for supporting all our Championships both juvenile and Senior in record numbers during the year. He also welcomed the two new Clubs, Moyglass and

Moore Abbey Milers representative to their first County AGM. He singled out the brilliant work that David Kenneally, Mary Doyle and Edie Smyth had done for the County Board in the last number of years and while they were stepping down from their positions they agreed to help the new incumbents with their work load. There was a special presentation made to all three outgoing Officers. All the reports presented at the AGM documented the many achievements by the County athletes during the year.

Treasurer, David Kenneally, gave a very detailed account of the Board’s finances in his final report to the Meeting.

The following Officers were elected for the coming year:

President: Breda Christie; Chairman: Billy Purcell; Vice Chairman: Tadgh Vaughan; Secretary: Owen Fanning; Treasurer: Mary Costello; Ass. Treasurers: David Kenneally and Albert Doyle; Cross Country Secretary: Nikki Hennessy; Ass. Cross Country Sec: Mary Doyle; Track and Field Secretary: Jim Ryan; Juvenile PRO: Aisling Hoey; Senior PRO: Niall O’Sullivan.