Kevin Maunsell wins Munster senior silver medal

Clonmel AC

Clonmel AC

The Munster Senior Men’s Cross Country Championships took place in Limerick racecourse where athletes had to contend with a demanding course that had many twists and inclines while the underfoot conditions were very muddy.

Still this didn’t deter Kevin Maunsell from running a blinder. Making his debut at these Championships he was going into the race as County Senior Champion and full of confidence. Right from the start he made his intentions known as he shared the lead on a number of occasions for the first half of the 10k race. Going out on the 2nd last lap Jason Fahy made the decisive break that saw him go clear at the front with four athletes giving chase including Kevin. At this stage everyone was going all out as the tempo increased. Then with one lap to go Kevin went clear of Michael Shannon and moved into 2nd place, a position he consolidated as he came home a very convincing 2nd to win the Munster Senior Silver medal, a brilliant performance that was the talk of the event as many of the spectators hadn’t seen Kevin run before. Then we had other great performances from fellow debutants and Club mates William Maunsell who was 33rd and Paudie OKeeffe who was 41st. These three were on the County team that was just out of the medals by 7 points.

Orlaith Moynihan wins Munster Junior Bronze medal

Limerick racecourse was the venue last Sunday for the Munster Inter County Relays and the Junior Women Cross Country Championships. In the Inter County relays Brid Moynihan ran very well on the Girls under 10 County team that finished 4th. Veerle van der Wal ran very well on the County Girls under 12 team that finished 4th. Anna Carey was on the Girls under 14 County team that also finished 4th.

In the Junior Women’s race Orlaith Moynihan ran very well when winning the Bronze medal.

Club Lotto

The Club’s Lotto now stands at j6400 with the draw taking place this Friday night in Carey’s Bar, Irishtown. Tickets cost j2 and can be purchased from any of the Committee members.

Paudie O’Keeffe starts the year off well with win

The New Year series got off to a brilliant start with 101 athletes competing despite the cold foggy conditions. It was great to see many familiar faces back running again in 2013 and it was also great to see many new faces. Looking at results please keep in mind the stagger start, the athletes wearing Yellow numbers went off at scratch, followed by the athletes wearing the Green numbers 30 seconds later with the Athletes wearing the Orange numbers starting off a minute after the first group. So the results are based on your actual finishing times and not as you crossed the line.

The Race format was Lucky Dip on finishing positions and the winners were Dick O’Gorman,Tom Morrissey, Brian Tyrell, John Connolly, Marie Holohan, Eddie Prendergast, Siobhain Roche, Declan Gavigan and Aoife O’Brien. In the race itself the winner was Paudie O’Keeffe who ran very well when finishing in 14 mins 26 secs, 2nd was Fintan Rice in 14:35 with Lar Martin finishing 3rd in 14:58. Thanks again to all the stewards who di a brilliant task on ensuring everyone got around safely even in such foggy conditions. The race format for race two will be “Predict your Finishing Time”, here athletes will predict their finishing time when they register and then run the race without a watch or I Phone.