Catherine Rice wins All Ireland medal

Clonmel AC

Clonmel AC

Last Sunday will go down as a special day for Catherine Rice as she won her first All Ireland medal when helping the County Tipperary Novice Ladies win the All Ireland Inter County Silver medals in Adamstown in County Wexford. Catherine ran a brilliant race especially over the latter stages to finish strongly and along with Martina O’Dwyer, Dympna Ryan and Marie Fitzgibbon won the Silver medals.

This is a just reward for all the training as Catherine has proven to be a great club member and playing a major role in all our achievements over the past number of years. Currently she is a member of the Management Committee and she is always available to give a helping hand with our very successful Meet and Train group.

Also last Sunday we saw some great performances in the All Ireland Men’s Cross Country Championships. Here we saw Kevin Maunsell back running at his best when putting in a fantastic run to finish a very impressive 7th. Kevin started off steady and then used his speed and strength to move through the field and he capped it all off with a very strong finish. Niall McCormack and William Maunsell also ran very well when finishing 33rd and 44th respectively and they all counted on the County team that finished a close 4th.

Clonakilty Marathon

Having picked up an injury 5 miles into this year’s Dublin City Marathon that saw him withdrawing from the event, John Laste has recovered very well and on Saturday he ran the picturesque but hilly Clonakilty Marathon in a great time of 3 hours 28 mins 28 secs to finish a very respectable 55th overall. This was great running by John when one considers he ran 3:55:45 last year in the Dublin City marathon.

St Stephens’ Day 4 miles

The Club is once again promoting its very popular St Stephen’s day 4 miles this year starting at 12 noon. Once again we are indebted to South Tipperary Vocational Committee for the use of their fine facilities at the Mall for our Registration, Changing Facilities, Presentation of Prizes and the Post Race Refreshments. This event is ideal for organisations wanting to raise funds for worthy causes. The course is accurate and has a Race Permit and will be well stewarded throughout the course. Last year we had 434 athletes competing with David McCarthy (West Waterford) winning in a brilliant time of 18 mins 58 secs. The course record of 18 mins 54 secs is held by Sandis Bralitis (West Waterford) set in 2008. The Ladies race last year was a titanic tussle between Siobhain O Doherty (Borrisokane) who won in 22 mins 55 secs, with Laura Behan (KCK) a second further back. The Ladies course record is held by Deirdre Doyle (Tinryland) who wan 22 mins 49 secs in 2010. For further information or queries please contact Niall O’Sullivan at 086 1660888.