Huge entry for inaugural Faugheen 5k road race

The 2013 Three Counties Challenge got off to a flying start on Friday evening last when a field of 218 runners lined up just outside the village for the first ever Faugheen 5k.

The 2013 Three Counties Challenge got off to a flying start on Friday evening last when a field of 218 runners lined up just outside the village for the first ever Faugheen 5k.

This was a fantastic turnout for a brand new race and is a reflection of the popularity of this series which is now in its seventh year.

Bobby FitzGerald of Fitzgerald Accounting, the race sponsor, was on hand to start the event and there was great support for the runners as they passed through the village on the loop made famous by the Faugheen ‘50’ motorbike race.

As the field made its way towards Ballinurra Cross there was a group of three out front but when they came back into the village to the finish line it was Sandis Bralitis (West Waterford AC) who had broken clear. Sandis took the victory in a very fast time of 15:17 with Kevin Moore (Dundrum AC) in second place clocking 15:29. Mick Traynor from Raheny Shamrocks took the third prize in 15:33 with Ravis Zaikis (West Waterford) and David Ryan (Clonmel AC) taking fourth and fifth prizes respectively. The first Carrick AC runner to finish was Daragh Byrne in fifteenth place (16:38) just ahead of Patrick Roche (16:40) and David Waters (16:43).

Race winner, Sandis Bralitis, was presented with the beautiful Moran Cup by Teresa Moran, sister of the accomplished athlete, Gerry Moran, who first received the cup in the 1970s.

The ladies’ race was won by Carrick AC’s Martina O’Dwyer in a time of 17:51 with Aine Roche (Clonmel AC) in second place and Diane Behan (Waterford AC) in third. Fourth place went to another Carrick AC runner, Emer O Brien, ahead of Ann Dunford (West Waterford).

The team prizes were very closely contested with Waterford AC (Frank Quinlan, Trevor Power and Brian Swaby) taking the men’s prize. Carrick AC’s trio of Ger Houlihan, Josephine O’Dwyer and Ann Cronin won the ladies’ prize.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped to make the inaugural Faugheen 5k such a resounding success. We are particularly grateful to Bobby FitzGerald for the generous sponsorship of our new race by Bobby FitzGerald Accounting, Carrick-on-Suir.Given the very positive feedback from all athletes after the race, we are confident that the Faugheen 5k will quickly become a favourite with runners of all abilities. The club would also like to thank Alan Treacy of Outfield Sports for the continued sponsorship of the overall series which has gone from strength to strength over the past seven years.

Our friends in Carrick-on-Suir Red Cross were once again on hand to provide the vital medical and ambulance services for the race and we would like to thank Finola Walsh and the team for their assistance. Kevin O’ Dee and his team of stewards made certain of the runners’ safety for which we are very grateful.

Thanks to the many volunteers who helped with parking, registration and results.The post-race refreshments and prize-giving in Flemings Bar were greatly enjoyed by all and thanks to Margaret Fleming for looking after everybody so well and to Elaine Walsh for providing the wonderful food.

The series moves to county Waterford next for the O’Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Memorial race over a fast 5 miles on May 10th with a 7:30pm start. Last year’s renewal attracted a record field of over 170 runners and no doubt that total will be surpassed this year.

Faugheen 5k Winners:

Senior Men : 1. Sandis Bralitis (West Waterford) 15:17 2. Kevin Moore (Dundrum AC) 15:29 3. Mick Traynor (Raheny Shamrocks) 15:33 4. Ravis Zaikis (West Waterford) 15:43 5. David Ryan (Clonmel AC) 15:50

O/40 : David Drohan (Waterford AC)

O/45: Fintan Rice (Fethard)

O/50: Walter Keane (Waterford AC)

O/55: Sean McGowan

O/60: Joe Gough (West Waterford AC)

Junior: Yves Lemaitre

Team: Waterford AC

Senior Ladies:

1. Martina O’Dwyer (Carrick AC) 17:51 2. Aine Roche (Clonmel AC) 19:25 3. Diane Behan (Waterford AC) 20:08 4. Emer O’ Brien (Carrick AC) 21:42 5. Ann Dunford (West Waterford)

O/35: Grainne Tierney (Clonmel AC)

O/40: Joanne Dunford (West Waterford)

O/45: Liz Ryan

O/50: Maura O’Neill (Carrick AC)

O/55: Bernie Sexton (Carrick AC)

Junior: Jennifer Rice (Fethard)

Team: Carrick AC