Bracken and O’Doherty dominate Coillte 10k in Dundrum

A field of just under 300 athletes went to the start line for the 28th Coillte 10k.

A field of just under 300 athletes went to the start line for the 28th Coillte 10k.

After a minute’s silence for the late Virgina Moore the race got underway. From the start the race was dominated by two Tipperary athletes Christy Bracken, Thurles Crokes, in the mens race and Siobhan O’Doherty, Borrisokane, in the womens race.

Christy, home from Australia, led from the whistle and increased his lead all the way to the finish line for a very impressive win. Likewise recent Dublin womens mini marathon winner Siobhan dominated the womens race to claim her sixth victory in the event. Christy also became the second winner of the Tim Crowe trophy for the first Tipperary athlete home which was presented to him after the race by Dominic Moore.

James Liddane BMOH was a clear second in the mens section with the ever conistant Danny Smith and three times Tim Crowe winner third. Dynmpna Ryan Dundrum kept the home flag flying with a good run for second with Madeline Loughnane Thurles Crokes third.

All categories were keenly contested throughout the two lap race. In the mens section there was impressive wins for Paudie O’Keefe Clonmel O/40, Tom Balckburn Mooreabbey Milers O/45, Derek Nolan Clonmel O/50, Martin Loughnane Roscrea O/55 and Paddy Dargan Ballynonty O/60.

The women’s categories were also battled hard for with wins for Brida Lynch West Limerick O/35, Anne MacPhail Donneen O/40,Deirdre Finn O/45 and Rita Kierce St. Marys O/50.

An interesting feature of the race is the number of non finishers which was 17 this year obviously with the two lap circuit and closeness to the village of the race giving those the option when the pressure mounts . Hopefully all will come back next year to have another go.

The Junior 5k race had good competition up front in the men’s section with the ever improving Michael Boland, Dundrum coming home first followed by French student Lemaitre Yves second and Lowell Ryan making the trip from Ballina to finish third. The women section was a Dundrum one two three with Jean Kelly first followed by Jenna Boland and Mary Kinane.

All prizes were presented by the main sponsor of the race Coillte represented by their BAU manager for the area Michael Power to all the winners after the race.

Categories Winners

Senior Men Christy Bracken Thurles Crokes 32:52, James Liddane BMOH 33:44, Danny Smith Ballynonty 34:18, Declan Moore Bilboa 34:35, Shane Mullaney Thurles Crokes 35:01, Adrian Linehan Dunhallow 35:01 O/40 Paudie O’Keeffe Clonmel AC 35:08, David Kenneally Thurles Crokes 38:35, Sean Quirke 38:55 O/45 Tom Blackburn Mooreabbey 35:34, James Ryan Dundrum AC 36:22, Mike Cunningham Mooreabby Milers 36:51 O/50 Derek Nolan Clonmel AC 38:26, Brendan Aherne Clonmel AC 38:38, Mick Delahunty Templemore 41:49. O/55 Martin Loughnane Roscrea 42:33 O/60 Paddy Dargen Ballynonty 48:17 Junior Men Michael Boland Dundrum 17:35, Lemaitre Yves Dundrum 18:07, Lowell Ryan Ballina 18:09

Senior Women Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 35:31, Dymphna Ryan Dundrum 37:32, Madeline Loughnane Thurles Crokes 40:36, Aine Roche Clonmel 41:05, Marie Fitzgibbon Thurles Crokes 41:17, Noelle Fitzgerald West Limerick 42:04. O/35 Breeda Lynch West Limerick 41:33, Caroline Conroy West Limerick 42:01 O/40 Ann MacPhail Donneen 39:48, Martina Ryan Thurles Crokes 43:05 O/45 Deirdre Finn 45:34, Collette Brolan Thurles Crokes 49:52 O/50 Rita Kierce St. Marys Clare 42:29. Junior Women Jean Kelly Dundrum 22:05, Jenna Boland Dundrum 24:09, Mary Kinane Dundrum 24:42