Shannon and Doherty Lead Record Entry Home In Coillte 10k in Dundrum

Last Wednesday night the 27th Coillte 10k was held by the local athletic club in Dundrum. Despite all the downpours of the recent days the rain held off as the record field of 320 athletes went to the start line.

Last Wednesday night the 27th Coillte 10k was held by the local athletic club in Dundrum. Despite all the downpours of the recent days the rain held off as the record field of 320 athletes went to the start line.

From the whistle Michael Shannon of Kilnaboy AC went to the front and set the pace. When they came back into the village to go out on their second lap Michael who finished 2nd last year was well out in front. The chasing pack was led by Ballynonty’s Danny Smith who was going for a three in a row as the first Tipperary athlete home. He was being pursued by Damien Lalor of St. John’s and the Tipperary trio of Kevin Moore, Dundrum , Shane Mullaney, Thurles Crokes and Clonmel’s David Ryan.

The Ladies Section at this stage was a red hot race with three Irish internationals, Siobhan O’Doherty, Borrisokane, Rosemary Ryan, Doneen and Angela McCann, Clonmel battling it out.

Back into the village on the final straight and Michael came home a clear winner in a time of 31:54 for a great win going one better than his 2nd place of last year. Danny maintained his strong pace all the way to take 2nd place and claim the Tim Crowe Trophy for the third year in a row. The trophy been presented to him by Dominic Moore after the race .Damien ran a great race to ensure Clare had two athletes in the top three. Shane and David came through strongly on the last lap to take 4th and 5th place with county senior road champion Kevin hanging on for 6th place.

In the Ladies section Siobhan came home for a clear win in a time of 35:07 with Rosemary and Angela 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The Masters Category had some great battles throughout the field. In the over 40’s men’s section we had a Clonmel one two with Paudie O’Keefe 1st and Niall O’Ceallaigh 2nd. Over 45’s were led home by Thomas Blackburn, Moore Abbey Milers who had a great run in 35:04. Clonmel again had the winner in the over 50’s section with Brendan Aherne holding off local man, Dundrum’s Benny English. Matt Alexander of Coolquill continued his consistent form by taken the over 55’s section with Ballynonty’s Paddy O’Dwyer having a fine win in the over 60’s section.

The Ladies Masters also saw some great racing with Martina Courtney, Skibbereen winning in a time of 41:38 in the over 35 section while the over 40’s had Ennis Tracks Siobhan Lennon and Aishling Power battling it out with Siobhan taking the honours. Deirdre Finn, Killaloe was first over 45’s and Carmel McDonhail, West Limerick taking 1st over 50’s both representing the large support from the Limerick Clare area every year..

The Junior 5k had a disappointing entry especially in the girls section, however, the strongly built Declan Moore, Bilboa, had a great win in the boys section and Amy Ryan, Moore Abbey Milers was a clear winner of the girls section in 22:10.

Category Winners

Senior Men - 1st Michael Shannon, Kilnaboy 31:54; 2nd Danny Smith, Ballynonty 33:44; 3rd Damien Lalor, St. Johns 34:04; 4th Shane Mullaney, Thurles Crokes 34:08, 5th David Ryan, Clonmel 34:24; 6th Kevin Moore, Dundrum 34:54; 7th Ross Alexander, Coolquil 35:19; 8th John Shanahan, Dundrum 35:48. Over 40 – 1st Paudie O’Keefe, Clonmel 36:25; 2nd Niall O’Ceallaigh, Clonmel 37:27; 3rd Declan O’Doherty, Thurles Crokes 38:08. Over 45 men – 1st Thomas Blackburn, Moore Abbey Milers 35:04; 2nd Michael Cunningham, Bilboa 35:40; 3rd James Ryan, Dundrum 35:55; Over 50 men – 1st Brendan Aherne, Clonmel 37:37; 2nd Benny English, Dundrum 38.16; 3rd John O’Shea, West Limerick 38:22; Over 55 men: Matt Alexander, Coolquil 38:36; Over 60 men – Paddy O’Dwyer, Ballynonty 45:43.

Senior Women - 1st Siobhan O’Doherty, Borrisokane, 35:07; 2nd Rosemary Ryan, Doneen 36:32; 3rd Angela McCann, Clonmel 36:56; 4th Andrea Walkins, West Limerick 40:45. Over 35 Women – 1st Martina Courtney, Skibbereen 41:38; 2nd Loretta Duggan, St Mary’s 42:14. Over 40 Women – 1st Siobhan Lennon, Ennis Track 40:51; 2nd Aishling Power, Ennis Track 41:11; Over 45 Women – 1st Deirdre Finn, Killaloe 42:30; 2nd Mary Maloney, Thurles Crokes 47:02. Over 50 Women – 1st Carmel McDonhaill, West Limerick 46:01. Junior 5k – Boys – 1st Declan Moore, Billboa 16:40; 2nd Killian Cullagh, Nenagh Olympic 17:18; 3rd Patrick Hughes, Thurles Crokes 17:19; Girls 1st Amy Ryan, Moore Abbey Milers 22:10; 2nd Jade Hogan, Dundrum 41:39; 3rd Cliona Slattery, Dundrum 41:40.