PJ Mackey Has The Edge In Spain Cup At Thurles GC

The sixth edition of the Dr. Spain Cup was won last Sunday by P.J. Mackey on a tie with David Corcoran.

The sixth edition of the Dr. Spain Cup was won last Sunday by P.J. Mackey on a tie with David Corcoran.

The trophy was presented by the Spain family in memory of Niall and the first to win was Pat Davy. Subsequent victors were Philip Egan, John Smith, Seamus Troy and P.J. Bowden.

Details: P.J. Mackey (9) 42; D. Corcoran (17) 42; T. Shanahan (19) 39; gross, E. Long (Scr.) 35; G. Sammon (18) 39. Also beating the C.S.S. of 34 were the following: J. Fanning (11) 37; J. Kennedy (4), K. Doherty (6), S. Mackey (21), Rd. Stapleton (14), J. Lineen (18) on 36; L. Troy (5), P. Fallon (9), J. O’Neill (5), E. Maher (5) on 35.

The issue was close as could be between the two on 42. They each scored 21, 21 and were inseparable down to the last three holes. Here the super finish by Mackey, 3,4,5 for nine points - gained the verdict over Corcoran’s 4,5,6 for six points. P.J. began his round with four over after as many holes but a deuce at the 5th set him off on a great run of level par all the way home. He beat par at the 8th and played the back nine in a decisive 37 shots, the birdie at the 16th a vital blow. Young Corcoran, son of the redoubtable Declan recorded four pars on each side and was only denied by Mackey’s high class finish. Thomas Shanahan gained third over Ger Sammon on the last six, both returned 20,19.

The Borrisoleigh player took the priority with thirteen against twelve, Ger had a closing “double” to regret.

The gross award went to Evan Long’s excellent one over 73 shots (37,36) for 35 points, a bogey at the 6th the exception to a series of pars by the scratchman.

A fine entry of 190 was complimented by Captain Jimmy O’Neill at the presentation of prizes. He thanked the Spain family for donating the commemorative trophy. They were represented on the occasion by Niall’s nephew, Ronan Spain, who suitably replied. Winner P.J. conveyed his appreciation of the honour.

This Thursday, April 7th, marks the beginning of another season of the familiar and popular Open Singles series. Another Open Singles will be next Sunday’s competition, this year’s fixture list contains a quota of similar events.

The Union’s team competitions are not all that far away as we enter April. First up, on Saturday, May 7th will be the Purcell Shield, with Ballykisteen as the venue. We meet Templemore.

In charge of our selection will be Ray Shannon, himself a national Bruen Shield winner and noted match player. This year’s Bruen will be managed by Pat Purcell and Sean Sherlock, it begins at Tipp. G.C. on June 11th, when we play the host club. Larry Moloney will oversee the Junior Cup, we meet Mitchelstown on their own course on July 2nd.

We revert to a Qualifying stroke competition for this year’s Bray O’Brien Cup singles match play. It will be played on Sunday, April 17th. It will be desirable that players give notice on their returns as to availability for the match play draw.

Fixtures: Thursday 7th, Open Singles; Sunday, Open Singles, Sunday 17th, Bray O’Brien, Qualifying Singles; Friday 22nd, Open Singles; Saturday 23rd, Open Fourball (any combination); Sat./Sun. 23rd/24th, Open Singles v par; Monday 25th, Open Team of four (any combination).

Ladies: Tuesday 29th March 2011 16 Holes Singles V Par.

1st Susan Troy (23) 5Up (6 -1), 2nd Triona Gleeson (19) 3Up, 3rd Marian Tuohy (25) 3Up, 4th Fionnuala Corcoran (16) 3Up (4 -1). Also on 3Up Bernie White (20) and Joan Purcell (19). The 2’s competition was won by Frances Treacy @ 3rd and Margaret Lonergan @ 14th.

Sunday 3rd April 2011 Team of Three (Waltz)

1st Marian Finn (7), Jacqueline Corbett (11), Susan Troy (23) 81pts

2nd Ena Hayes (32), Aideen O’Sullivan (34), Esther Lyons (36) 77pts

3rd Brigid McCormack (13), Joan Butler (23), Betty Rafter (20) 72pts

Next Sunday’s Ladies Competition is a Team of Two.

Ladies please note that on Tuesday 12th April 2011 the last morning draw will take place at 11.00am with Seniors time at 11.30. Afternoon draws will commence at 2.30pm and continue throughout the afternoon. A Ladies Group has booked the course from 12.00noon to 2.00pm inclusive.