Inaugural Larkspur Open a huge success

The Cashel club had 234 players from various clubs north and south of Tipperary with 16 events to organise which was no easy task.

The Cashel club had 234 players from various clubs north and south of Tipperary with 16 events to organise which was no easy task.

The tournament ran from Friday, August 19, until Saturday evening, August 27. Some of the highlights of week were seeing some of larkspur’s longer playing members like Maisie Ryan and Una Moloney taking part in their first ever open week. Other highlights were a lot of former players and members going up every night to watch tennis and reminisce about when they were playing and enjoying the whole social interaction over the week.

The finals were held on Saturday from 12 noon. The sun shone brightly, the club looked amazing and food from the kitchen and the delicious smell of burgers kept everyone fed for the day.

Larkspur’s only double winner of the tournament was club member Cora Horgan, who is one of the club’s up and coming stars, when she scooped two great wins in the ladies doubles and mixed doubles.

The prize giving took place in the Nissan Hut where Chairperson Maire Cummins stood proudly and welcomed everyone from the various clubs that took part. Maire complimented the organising sub-committee of Barbara Ryan, Teresa Anglim, Catherine Fitzell, Benny Dudley and Bryan Fogarty on an excellent job they did on running such a successful tournament. She also thanked all club members for pulling together over the last few weeks for getting the club in tip top shape. She thanked all the sponsors and New Inn Tennis Club for the use of their courts. She also thanked Aine O’Dwyer and Margo Fogarty for their help over the week. Maire then went on to present the prizes ably assisted by Barbara Ryan and Benny Dudley. All prizes were provided by local business Rossa Pottery which were displayed beautifully by Sarah Walsh.

To run a tournament of this standard Larkspur would like to thank the sponsors who so generously contributed. The two main sponsors South Tipperary Sports Partnership and Baileys Hotel, Cashel and also Bryan Fogarty Tyre Centre & Motor Factors, Topaz, Cashel, Morrissey’s Supervalu, Ronayne Hardware, Cashel Credit Union, Mikey Ryan’s Bar, Dansies Bar, Rosegreen, Dairygold Co-op, Lacoste at Daverns, Cashel, Heat In Insulation Ltd, Gerard Slattery Electrical, Catherine & Derry O’Connor, KOKO Ladies & Kids Shoes, Cashel, Smart Control, Martin O’Dwyer Buthers, Ely’s Centra, Donal Ryan, Solicitors, Morris Oil, Cashel Wine Cellar, Kearney’s Castle Hotel, Rockhouse, The Bakehouse, Liam Ryan, Accountant, Centenary Co-op, Una O’Dwyer, McDonnalds and Thurles Milk.

The following are the results of our open week: MD1-2: Winners: James Neylon & Declan Tarrant, Runners Up: Bryan Fogarty and Tony Mccarthy,WD1-2: Winners: Hannahmay Morrissey & Sinead Dunne Runners Up: Jacinta Coman & Marcella Kelly; XD1-2: Winners: John Heffernan & Jacinta Coman; Runners Up: David Goulding & Joanne Lonergan, MD3: Winners Chris Collins & Martin Ryan, Runners Up: Gareth McGlinchey & Jerry Shanahan, WD3: Winners Helen O’Dwyer Ryan & Catherine Fitzell; Runners Up: Brid Coffey & Csilla Varga; XD3: Winners: Gareth McGlinchy & Geraldine Everett; Runners up: Joe Ahearn & Patsy Downey: MD4: Paul Anglim and Benny Dudley; Runners up: Joe Barry & Jimmy (Jinx) Ryan; WD4: Winners: Emma Butler and Anne Quinn; Runners Up: Teresa Drohan and Patricia Keating; XD4: Winners: Eugene O’Mahony and Denise McGrath; Runners Up: Paul Foley & Teresa Drohan; MD5: Winners Rupert Butler and John Shanahan; Runners-up Bernard Ryan & Eddie Tobin; WD5: Winners: Kathleen McGrath & Ann-Marie Moroney; Runners-up Eileen Hally and Laura Heffernan. XD5: Winners: Bernard Ryan & Michelle Buckley; Runners up: Noel O’Brien & Catherine Burke; MD6: Winners: Padraig Skeffington & Joe Treacy; Runners up: Brendan Butler & Derek Hanrahan; WD6: Winners: Margo Fogarty & Cora Horgan; Runners Up: Margaret Foley & Nuala O’Connell; XD6: Winners: Diarmuid Crosse & Cora Horgan; Runners Up: Sean Looby & Marie Walsh; WD7: Winners: Norah O’Connor & Naomi Campbell; Runners Up: Sinead Butler & Norah O’Connor.