Andy Griffin is new county chairman

Community Games

Community Games

There was a good attendance at County Tipperary Community Games 2013 AGM which was held on Wednesday last, October 17 in Hayes Hotel, Thurles. South Tipperary certainly responded to the call for more involvement at the “top table” when Andy Griffin from St Mary’s, Clonmel was elected as the new county chairman. Andy has been involved in Community Games for the past few years during which he was instrumental in creating tremendous improvement in participation in all three areas in Clonmel along with John Hoctor, Tom O’Ceallaigh, Mary Walsh and their committees.

Some of the highlights of the year included hosting the county finals of the Art and Model Making, Swimming and Skittles in Clonmel.

Rory O’Grady, National Youth Officer, outlined provisional plans for 2013. It is proposed to try and rekindle the element of the “festival of sport” which was always associated with Mosney. The National Executive are now looking at having two national finals over a four day period ie. Thursday to Sunday, one in June and the other in August. Some of the under 16 activities have been deleted from the programme therefore targeting a younger age group to the disappointment of many. The feeling is that it is very important to keep young people of that age group competing as they will progress to future involvement. Our current youth committee are a shining example of this. Claire Hogan and her energetic young committee were highly praised for the competent manner they carried out their duties at County and National level during the year.

The officers gave comprehensive reports on the happenings of 2012. All participants were congratulated especially those who were responsible for bringing home a total of 34 medals from national finals which included the following competitors from the South:-

Gold – Leah Carew, Lattin Cullen u10 Model Making, Aoibhe O’Shea, Ballingarry u14 800m. Ballingarry U12 mixed Skittles team. St Peter and Paul’s u16 mixed Skittles team.

Silver - Lorna Ni Cheallaigh, St Olivers, u16 Swimming.Cashel U13 Hardcourt tennis team Anthony Tobin, Aaron Egan St Peter and Paul’s both members of the u17 marathon team

Bronze – Maheen Khan, Clonmel u10 Handwriting, Aine Carew, Lattin Cullen u8 Art,

Pewter – Aoife Ryan, Lattin Cullen U14 Model Making, Pheobe Murphy St Mary’s U16 100m, Carrick On Suir u14 girls relay team.

Cashel-Rosegreen area had the greatest level of participation in the South and were runners up for the county award being narrowly defeated by Silvermines. Well done to Polly Murphy and her team.

Officers elected - President Breeda Christie, Tipperary Town; Chairman Andy Griffin, St Mary’s Clonmel; Vice Chairperson Joan O’Connor, Powerstown Lisronagh; Secretary Kathleen England, Roscrea; Assistant Secretary, Joan Hogan, St Flannans; Treasurer Pauline Martin O’Rourke, Roscrea; Assistant Treasurer Mary Moroney, Silvermines; Team Events Secretary (North) Willie Jones, St Flannan’s, (South) Declan O’Shea, Ballingarry; Individual Events Secretaries Kathleen England and Joan Hogan; Development Officers (North) Michael England, Roscrea, Mary Moroney, Joan Hogan and Liam Tierney, Cloughjordan, (South) Declan O’Shea, Mary O’Shea, both Ballingarry, Albert Doyle, Mary Doyle both New Inn, Paul Carew, Lattin Cullen; PRO (South) Peggy Colville Fethard and Emby Walsh Carrick On Suir; (North) Mary Moroney, Dorothy Cullagh, Claire Hogan; Youth Officer, Claire Hogan, St Flannans; Child Officer Mary O’Shea, Ballingarry; Nominee to S.T.S.P. Emby Walsh; NEAC Delegate Michael England; Delegates to Munster Council. Andy Griffin, Michael England, Kathleen England; Appeals Committee: Joan O’Connor, Powerstown, Albert Doyle, New Inn. Declan O’Shea, Paul Carew, Liam Tierney, Fr. Bobby Fletcher, Newport.