Rockwell fail to reach potential in Junior Cup

Avonmore Munster Junior Cup quarter final

Avonmore Munster Junior Cup quarter final

Rockwell 0, Castletroy College 20.

Rockwell College bowed out of this year’s Munster Junior Cup after a tough encounter with Limerick’s Castletroy College at Clanwilliam Park in Tipperary town on Wednesday last.

Rockwell started this encounter well and had most of the possession in the early stages. Indeed they had a penalty after just two minutes after Castletroy were penalised for killing the ball in a ruck. However Rockwell centre Liam Casey was unlucky with his kick.

Just minutes later Castletroy’s continued indiscipline - they conceded 13 penalties in total- allowed Rockwell to force another penalty with the Limerick men again penalised for killing the ball just inside their own half and Casey’s ambitious kick dropped short. However Castletroy started to gain a foothold in the game and finally got the game’s first score after 18 minutes after Rockwell fullback William Coffey was penalised for not releasing the ball in a ruck with Castletroy fullback Conor Linehan putting his side ahead.

However two minutes later Castletroy winger John Fox produced a brilliant instep after he received the ball from a Castletroy ruck close in to touch down under posts and Linehan converted for a 10-0 lead. Linehan made it 13-0 on the stroke of half time with a penalty. Rockwell continued to threaten in the second half but when Wing forward Pat O’Kane scored their second try on forty five minutes and Linehan converted the faced a mountain to climb.

Rockwell outhalf Ben Reilly nearly reduced the deficit but slipped before he made the line in the closing minutes. Speaking after the game Rockwell Junior Coach Brendan Ferris claimed that he was ‘disappointed that the team did not perform to their potential’.

However he claimed that ‘the lads showed great character to keep going right to the end and that this will stand to them in the future’.

Rockwell College: William Coffey (Toomevara); Ryan Deeleman (Clonmel), Oisin Leahy (Ballyvaughan), Liam Casey (Cahir), Lukas Kaminski (Poland); Ben Reilly (Bahrain), Joss Murray (Borrisileigh); Killian Farrell (capt) (Golden), Sean McNulty (Clonmel) , Denis O’Connell (Tipp Town); John Smyth (Kilsheelan), Tim Brophy (Kildare); Jack Brophy (Kildare), Eire McCarthy (Cahir), James Feehan (Ballinure). Replacements: Cormac Looby, David O’Dwyer, Luke Hickey, Luke Keating, Sean Hayes, Cian Flavin, Fionn McCann.

Referee: Brian Twomey (M.A.R.