Tipp boys hold on in high-scoring schools clash

Abbey School 40

Abbey School 40

Mounthawk (Tralee) 38

Abbey CBS, Tipperary held on for a deserved win in this game in Collegelands last Wednesday. Abbey got a great start with Cian Ryan going over the line after just three minutes, following the conversion from Daire Egan, the Abbey had seven points on the board. Mounthawk replied almost immediately with a converted Jack Stuart try. The Abbey then hit a good spell. Frank Ryan scored a try and John Hickey added another, converted by Daire Egan to put the Abbey ahead 19-7.

Another converted try came from Cian Ryan to push the Abbey total to 26 points. Tommy Lowry then replaced Daire Egan and both sides had further tries, the Abbey from John Hickey,converted by Shane Power, and Mounthawk from Donagh O’Buachalla. The Abbey led at the break 33-12.

Mounthawk were a changed side in the second half and took the game to the Abbey boys. They held possession and moved the ball well and added tries from Donagh O’Buachalla and Louis Ryle. The Abbey moved further ahead with a much needed try from Tadhg O’Dwyer which was converted by Josh Ryan, to bring their score to 40 points. Another converted Mounthawk try left seven between the sides, and the Abbey fought hard to hold possession and grind out a win.

However O’Buachalla went over again but Mounthawk failed to convert, so the Abbey lead was now just two points,a lead which they defended until rhe final whistle. Cian Ryan,Frank Ryan and Shane Power had great performances for the Abbey.

Abbey CBS - Frank Ryan(Capt), Eoin Kelly, Luke Ashmore, Tadhg O’Dwyer, Donal Ryan, Robert Magee, Jack Comerford, Shane Power, Cian Ryan,David Byron, Josh Ryan, Daire Egan,John Hickey, Mark Ellard, Daniel Kelly.

Replacement Tommy Lowry.