Maria Nash hits winning goal for Lattin-Cullen in indoor soccer final

Community Games

Community Games

South finals of all four age groups in the Community Games indoor soccer competition was hosted by Powerstown Lisronagh area in the fabulous facilities of Monroe Sports Complex on Sunday last, and capably co-ordinated by Joan O’Connor.

Moycarkey Borris completed a double winning both the boys under 13 and under 15 events.

Lattin Cullen defeated Moycarkey Borris in the final of the girls under 13 competition 1-0. These were two very evenly matched teams who were nil all at half time. In the second half Maria Nash scored the vital goal to take the title to the delight of their many supporters.

Winning team -Bernedette Leahy, Megan O’Neill, Katie Cunningham, Laoise Looby, Jenny Quirke, Aoife O’Halloran, Maria Nash.

Runners up -Sarah Foley, Emma Hayes, Aoige Graham, Niamh Woodlock, Amy McGivern, Nicole Gleeson, Michell McKelvey, Emma Shelly

Powerstown Lisronagh had no opposition in the under 15 girls final as the opposing teams withdrew due to various circumstances. Team members:- Claire Moore, Megan Shanahan, Evrena Everard, Sarah McDermott, Michelle McMeel, Cliona Collins, Derbhla Fitzgerald.

In the boys under 13 competition the teams concerned in the semi finals were

Moycarkey v Clerihan where they emerged winners on a score of 4 – 2

Lattin Cullen defeated Powerstown Lisronagh by a similar margin in the second semi final. Moycarkey’s good run of luck continued in the final defeating Lattin Cullen in a very exciting game.

Winning team members - Aidan Scott, Zac Jackson, James Dillon, Adam Condon Jack Fallon, Rory Darmody Rhys Shelly, Diarmuid Maher.

Lattin Cullen - Arthur Moore, Jack Cunningham, Niall Carew, Michael Sean Nash, Connie O’Halloran, Danny Cunningham, Ben Quinn, Liam Ryan

Powerstown team - Seamus O’Keeffe, Michael Murphy, Donal McCabe, Michael Sweetman, Shane O’Connor.

Clerihan team: Liam McGrath, Eoin Power, Shane Hickey, Ben Keating Hogan Rian Quigley, Cathal Ryan, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Callum Meagher.

The boys under 15 semi finals commenced with a hotly contested match between Moycarkey and St Mary’s, who played very well but were at a disadvantage as they could only field a team of 5 players in this 7 a side event, but Niall Hoctor still scored a goal in the first half while his brother Eoin scored in the second half but they could not contain the strong challenge from Moycarkey.

Semi final two was between the neighbouring areas of St. Oliver’s and Powerstown where St Olivers won after another entertaining game but again they

were beaten by Moycarkey who were not going to surrender at this stage.

South champions are Anthony McKelvey, Conor Maher, Jack Hackett, Kieran Cummins. Graham O’Connor, John Cussen, John Rafter, Greg Foley.

Runners Up: St Olivers Jake Landers, Keith Fahey, Kyle Peters,Mark Keogh, Jamie Ahearne, Dean McLaughlin, Ross Duggan, Adam O’Cheallaigh.

St Mary’s Niall Hoctor, Darragh Lynch, Aidan Tobin, James Corbett, Eoin Hoctor

Powerstown Lisronagh: Ronan Wagner, Jack Burke, Alex Doyle Ronan Quigley, Kevin Grace, James Brennan, Conor Blanche.

All winning teams will now contest the county final which is expected to take place in Templemore where county winners will go on to Munster Finals in U.L. on March 3.

The County Finals of Draughts will take place in Lattin-Cullen GAA Centre on Sunday next, February, 26 commencing at 6pm. Co-ordinator Paul Carew.