Crucial game in Waterford in Oscar Traynor Trophy

FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy Preview:

FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy Preview:

The Tipperary Southern & District League will be playing their final two Group 4 games in the FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy against Waterford and Wexford either side of Christmas. The first is a mouth-watering clash against neighbours Waterford this coming Saturday, December 22 under lights of Cooke Park, Tipp town with a 6 pm kick-off.

The TSDL have already beaten Kilkenny 4-0 and must now overcome the challenge of the Waterford & District League if they are going to keep their aspirations of a place in the knockout stage alive.

After a fruitless journey to Waterford city on Sunday, November 5, where on arrival they found Ozier Park pitch unplayable, the TSDL now have ‘home advantage’ for this crucial clash.

This is a win or bust game for a Waterford side that beat Kilkenny 4-1, but also lost their opening game to Wexford by 2-1. That means their only hope of reaching the knockout stage is victory this coming Saturday.

However, the TSDL will not want to take a victory here for granted as Waterford were unfortunate not to collect a share of the spoils against Wexford having led for two-thirds of that game played in Wexford. The backbone of the side comes from Carrick United, that include 2012 Tipperary United Sports Award recipient and Amateur International keeper Adrian Walsh. So there will be plenty of familiar faces on display.

On the other hand, should the TSDL secure victory the game against the Wexford League seven days later - at the same venue - will decide what league gains top spot and home advantage in the quarter-finals.

Group Table as it stands:

Team P W D L GD Pts

Wexford 2 2 0 0 + 4 6

TSDL 1 1 0 0 + 4 3

Waterford 2 1 0 1 + 2 3

Kilkenny 3 0 0 3 - 9 0

Games remaining: TSDL v Waterford; TSDL v Wexford

The TSDL management team of Mike O’Brien and Jason Purcell will be looking for a repeat performance that their charges did when defeating Kilkenny 4-0 at this venue and have included the same squad for these two games. The following players are to assemble in Cooke Park at 4.30 (sharp)

Evan Comerford, Richard Ryan, Michael Fitzgerald, Paul Tobin, Chris Higgins, Kevin Waters, Simon Scully, John Shanahan, Trevor Cosgrove, Paul Breen, Jimmy Carr, Richie Ryan, Thomas Fahy, David Slattery, Michael Buckley, Conor Conneally, Pa Quinn, Evan Maguire, David McGrath, Sean O’Hara and Alan Hayes