Search our Archive


Swans resist late Ballingarry surge with late O’Hanlon point

South Senior Hurling Championship

South Senior Hurling Championship

Carrick Swans 0-15

Ballingarry 1-10

In the penultimate round of the South Senior Hurling Championship, played in Kilsheelan on Sunday last in glorious summer weather, this closely-fought affair had a Championship edge. Swans started to pull away in the final quarter, only to be rattled by a penalty goal from James Logue that had the large attendance on their feet for the final 2 minutes, when a draw seem to be on the cards. Instead it was Danny O’Hanlon, with a shot from 70 metres, who landed the spoils for Swans, who just about deserved victory to qualify for the Semi-Finals, thus sending Ballingarry into the O’Riain Cup.

Within a minute of the start Seanie Cahill pointed a free for Ballingarry. In the fourth minute Kieran Reade opened the scoring for Carrick Swans with a well taken strike. Danny O’Hanlon put the Carrick team ahead in the 10th minute but Ballingarry were back on level terms when Seanie Cahill picked off a point from play. Within a minute Swans were back in front when Kieran Reade, on a run through the centre, finished with a fine point.

In the 15th minute Ballingarry were awarded a free on the 30m line that Seanie Cahill made no mistake from to bring the sides level for the second time. Ballingarry then added two points from J P O’Brien and from Philip Ivors to go 0-5 to 0-3 ahead.

However the scores were tied yet again when Danny O’Hanlon converted two frees. In the 25th minute a line ball around the middle of the field by Dickie Norton ended up in the hand of Jack Fennelly, and he made no mistake with a point from play. Three minutes later Seanie Cahill pointed a free after Adrian Cleere was fouled to put Ballingarry in front by 0-7 to 0-5. Danny O Hanlon replied with a ‘65 to leave the half time score Ballingarry 0-7 Carrick Swans 0-6.

Carrick Swans equalised immediately after the re-start, the fourth time the scores were level, when Andrew Walsh finished off a fine movement with a well taken point. Within a minute they were ahead with a point from play by Shane Hogan, only to see Ballingarry’s Jack Fennelly point from an acute angle to level the scoring for the fifth time. Swans’ Andrew Walsh, with his second from play and Ballingarry’s Seanie Cahill exchanged further scores.

Danny O’Hanlon edged Swans back in front with a free and then Stephen Hahessy pointed Swans following an excellent run of nearly 40 metres that might have yielded a goal. Seanie Cahill pulled a point back for Ballingarry in the 40th minute from a free. Swans brought in Bill Walsh for Shane Hogan with immediate effect, as he got a free on his second touch that Danny O’Hanlon put over the bar. Then in the 44th minute an Alan P Ryan shot came back off James Logue but Bill Walsh scored from the rebound to put Swans ahead by 0-13 to 0-10.

They went Swans four up with 3 minutes remaining and Ballingarry suffered a further blow when Danny Fitzgerald was sent off for a second yellow card. However when Adrian Cleere was fouled on a run for a goal Ballingarry were awarded a penalty that James Logue came up to take and he made no mistake in striking low and hard into the net to leave only a point between the teams. But try as they might Ballingarry were unable to bridge that gap, with Danny O’Hanlon getting his first point of the day from play on the stroke of full time.

Best for Carrick Swans were Gerry Walsh, Andrew Walsh, Kevin Lanigan, Stephen Hahessy, Kieran Reade, Dwayne Fogarty, Alan P Ryan, Danny O’ Hanlon and Bill Walsh. Danny Fitzgerald, Jack Fennelly, Dickie Norton, Seanie Cahill, Ian Ivors, Michael Ivors, Adrian Cleere and Philip Ivors gave of their best for Ballingarry.

Carrick Swans - Tom Kennedy, Darren Murphy, Alan O’Sullivan, Gerry Walsh, Darren Fahy, Kevin Lanigan, Andrew Walsh 0-2, Martin Russell, Stephen Hahessy 0-1, Paul Diffley, Kieran Reade 0-2, Dwayne Fogarty, Alan P Ryan , Danny O Hanlon 0-8 (7 frees) Shane Hogan 0-1.

Subs - Bill Walsh 0-1 (40 mins), Aaron Wash (46 mins), M J Walsh (47 mins).

Ballingarry - James Logue 1-0 (penalty), Danny Fitzgerald, Tomas Donovan, Brian Cooney, Darren Kelly, Gerry Fitzgerald, Dickie Norton, Seanie Cahill 0-6 (5 frees), J P O Brien 0-1, Philip Ivors 0-1, Ciaran Shelley, Ian Ivors, Michael Ivors, Adrian Cleere, Jack Fennelly 0-2.

Referee - Noel Cosgrove (Marlfield).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.