Search our Archive


Stars of the future shine on the

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol

Hurling and Camogie Finals

The annual Tipperary Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Hurling and Camogie Finals took place in Semple Stadium over two days earlier this month. Played in perfect conditions, these finals showcased all the great talent and potential that our future stars possess. The matches provided great entertainment for the large attendance on both days. The young stars of tomorrow illuminated a sun-drenched Semple Stadium with their vast array of skills and talent. With 26 finals taking place, spectators were treated to some wonderful hurling over the two days.

Thanks are due to Semple Stadium custodian Philly Butler for the warm welcome he showed to all the schools and to Jimmy Purcell and Andy O’Gorman for ensuring that everything ran smoothly. A special thank you is due to referees Christy McLoughlin, Fergal Horgan, John Bob Ryan and Mark Generry, plus the very capable Second Year students and Transition Year students for their enthusiasm, initiative and energy over the two days. Special praise is also due to Cumann na mBunscol Secretary Aodán Wrenn and Acting Chairman Brian Boyle for organising such a successful two days. The Cumann na mBunscol Officers were assisted greatly in co-ordinating and organising everything by GDA Officers Dinny Maher, Andy Ryan, Johnny Cummins, Tadhg O’ Connor and Kevin Halley. The input of the GDA Officers was instrumental in the successful implementation of the Go Games Model in the Under 11 Competitions.

Cumann na mBunscol is extremely grateful as well to the County GAA Board.

It was also fitting that outstanding treasurer Jerry McDonnell presented some of the winning teams with their trophies at the end of their matches. Most importantly, special praise should also be afforded to all the talented boys and girls who graced the hallowed turf over the two days.

Thanks are also due to all the teachers and coaches of the teams for their co-operation before and during the finals. Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol are very fortunate to have some of the most dedicated and committed teachers around in our county. They are setting a terrific example for all our young boys and girls. DVDs of the Hurling Finals are available from Michael Trehy Video Productions and all orders will be taken on 086-2755805.

Under 11 E Hurling

Declan Ryan cheers on son Jack to victory

Ballagh NS 5-7 Ballinaclough NS 3-5

Referee: Fergal Horgan

Ballagh NS and Ballinaclough NS produced a wonderful contest in the Under 11 E Hurling Final. Ballagh started the better and raced into an early lead with two Jack Ryan goals. Jack is the son of Tipperary manager Declan Ryan, who was in Semple Stadium to support his son and Ballagh NS. It was also an emotional day for retiring Ballagh Principal Mary Glasheen. During her tenure Ballagh have won 8 County titles and her school has contributed many star players to Clonoulty teams over the years.

Ballagh’s Jack Ryan was the standout player in a one-sided first half that saw his team race into a half time lead of 3-6 to 1-2. Ballinaclough principal Michael Gleeson showed shrewd tactical nous in placing Darragh Nolan on Jack Ryan for the second half in an attempt to negate the Ballagh star’s considerable influence on proceedings. This saw Ballinaclough come storming into the game in the second half. Darragh Nolan scored two fine goals to reduce the Ballagh lead. However, Ballagh responded with two brilliant goals from Jack Ryan and Robert Doyle to secure the title.

Ballagh NS - Jack Ryan, Anthony McCarthy, Jack Moriarty, Oisín Fryday, Kellie Quirke, Jake O’Donnell, Aaron Kearns, Tommy Ryan, Matthew Cullen, Robert Doyle, Christian Cullen.

Under 13 D Camogie

New Inn well beaten by superb Carrig Nenagh

Carrig Nenagh 8-04 New Inn 0-02

Referee: Fergal Horgan

Carrig Nenagh produced a very balanced and efficient display to defeat New Inn NS in the Under 13 D Camogie Final. This was a historic first Camogie title for Carrig NS. Principal Mairéad O’ Halloran, along with outstanding coach Darragh Egan, were very proud school leaders at the final whistle.

To their eternal credit the New Inn NS Girls fought bravely to the finish and there was no shame in losing to such a superb Carrig NS team. Karin Blair was outstanding for New Inn NS while Jade Mitchell was the star performer in a star studded Carrig NS team.

New Inn Girls - Rebecca Carroll, Ciara Parker, Shannon O’Dwyer, Briana Crosse, Karin Blair, Jessica McNamara, Gráinne Moloney, Shannon Flanagan, Aoife O’ Donnell, Clodagh McGivern. Orla Peters, Rachel Murphy, Caoimhe Crosse, Yvonne Walmsley. Principal: Fiona Ryan. Teachers/Coaches: Teresa Harrington, Mary Barlow, Annette Carroll and Michael Shanahan.

Under 13 B Hurling

Cashel beaten in humdinger

St. Colmcilles 3-11 Cashel BNS 3-4

Referee: Christy McLoughlin

St. Colmcilles Templemore and Cashel BNS served up the proverbial classic in the Under 13 B Hurling decider. Colin Ryan, Cashel and Lyndon Fairbrother, Templemore exchanged early points. The game sparked into life when rising star Paddy Cadell scored an excellent goal for Colmcilles. Cashel responded with two well-taken goals from the excellent Con Bonnar, which saw them head into the interval leading by three points.

Templemore came storming into the game in the second half and Jamie Morrissey scored four quick points to put his team in front and, once ahead, they never looked back. This was an epic contest from start to finish between two awesome teams. Jamie Morrissey, Templemore and Colin Ryan, Cashel lit up Semple Stadium with their phenomenal individual performances.

Cashel BNS - Adam Skeffington, Lee Barry, Brandon Duffy, Brian Fitzpatrick, Colin Ryan, Ciarán Quinn, Eoghan Connolly, Con Bonnar, Patrick Fahy, Ross Bonnar, Daniel Wade, Jack Price, Alex Marshall, Brían Davern, Ciarán Davern, Jamie O’ Keeffe, John Tadhg Murphy, Murragh McDermott, Rodrigo Cavavesi Goncalves, Paul Shortt, Gavin Aherne, Scott Scanlan, Michael O’ Meara, Luke Quinlan, Seán Ryan, Jack Browne Corbett.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.