Search our Archive


Dean Kelleher shines as Clonmel Og grab a lifeline with landslide win

South U-21 B Hurling Championship

South U-21 B Hurling Championship

Clonmel Og 5-14 Kilsheelan Gaels 1-6

In the South U-21 B Hurling Championship Kilsheelan Gaels took on Clonmel Og in Monroe in a game the Clonmel side needed to win, while Kilsheelan had a second chance if they lost.

Kilsheelan opened the scoring with an Alex Harte point. Clonmel Og’s response was decisive, as Dean Kelleher pointed four frees. The same player converted a ’65 and followed with a further pointed free. Stephen O’Connell then got his name on the scoresheet when he shot to the back of the net and when Dean Kelleher added another point Clonmel Og led by 1-7 to 0-1. Alex Harte then broke this sequence when he sent in a long distance free that deceived Shane Fehilly in the Clonmel Og goal to raise a green flag. He soon followed with another point, from a free, to leave the half-time score 1-7 to 1-2 in favour of the town side.

After the interval Colin Gleeson, who was introduced at the break, pointed for The Gaels. Following some good work outfield Dean Kelleher had a goal and moments later Mattie Norris did likewise to extend Clonmel Og’s advantage. Bill Maher sent over the bar for Kilsheelan but the Clonmel side were now dominant, as Dean Kelleher added two more points and substitute Ross Mullane worked his way through for another goal. Shane Columby had Kilsheelan’s final score when he pointed. Clonmel Og finished strongly with a goal from Shane O’Connell and further points from Dean Kelleher and Ross Mullane to secure a decisive victory.

Clonmel Og - Shane Fehilly, Mick Lynch, Dean Norton, Paddy Power, Eric Smith, Declan Bennett, Graham Quinn, Dara Kearney, Marc Ahearne, Eddie Power, Mattie Norris 1-0, Cian Hogan, Dean Kelleher 1-12, Shane O’Connell 2-0 and Conor Arrigan.

Substitute - Ross Mullane 1-2.

Kilsheelan Gaels - Tadhg Lonergan, Shane Columby 0-1, David Corcoran, John Ormonde, Kevin Guiry, Kevin Larkin, Sean Ryan, Adrian McGuire, David Smyth, Dean Mulcahy, Bill Maher 0-1, Ray Hallinan, John Smyth, Alex Harte 1-3 and Paudie O’Donovan.

Substitutes - Finbarr Horgan, Conor Gleeson 0-1, James Davin Murphy and Kevin Gunne.

Referee - Martin Doyle (Ardfinnan).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.