Search our Archive


Sergiu Ciobanu and Martina O’Dwyer win in Piltown

A perfect evening for running saw a field of 171 runners line up for the sixth annual Morris Oil Piltown 10k on Friday.

A perfect evening for running saw a field of 171 runners line up for the sixth annual Morris Oil Piltown 10k on Friday.

This was the fifth and final race in this year’s hugely successful Outfield Sports Three Counties Challenge which includes races from 5k up to 10k in the neighbouring counties of Tipperary, Waterford and Kilkenny.

The men’s race was won in convincing style by Clonliffe Harriers’ Sergiu Ciobanu who is no doubt looking forward to representing his native Moldova in the upcoming World Athletics Championships.

Ravis Zakis (West Waterford AC) put in a fantastic effort to break the 32-minute barrier and take second prize. Ravis was also the winner of the overall series for the best placing in any four of the five races. Niall Sheil (St. Killian’s) was third with a time of 33:00.

The ladies’ race was fiercely contested with three runners moving clear of the field in the early stages. This group remained together for much of the race but it was Martina O’Dwyer (Carrick AC) who proved strongest over the final mile and claimed an impressive victory with a personal best time of 37:47. Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) took second place in 38:08 and Jackie Carthy (Kilmore AC) was third in 38:43.

Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped in the organisation and running of this year’s race. We are especially grateful for the continued generous sponsorship of MorrisOil, Fiddown over the past six years. Thanks also to Outfield Sports, Carrick-on-Suir, for the overall series sponsorship and to Iverk Produce, Piltown, for contributing to the goody bag for all participants . As always, Carrick-on-Suir Red Cross were on hand to ensure medical assistance was available when needed. We would also like to thank Piltown GAA Club and Kildalton Horticultural College for the use of their facilities and grounds.

Carrick AC’s hard-working committee will enjoy a short break now before commencing the annual one-mile Autumn Challenge in a few weeks’ time.

Morris Oil Piltown 10k Winners

Senior Men: 1. Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 31:37 2. Ravis Zakis (West Waterford) 31:58 3. Niall Sheil (St. Killian’s) 33:00 4. Frank Quinlan (Waterford AC) 33:57 5. Trevor Power (Waterford AC) 34:29

O/40 : Daragh Byrne (Carrick AC); O/45 : Niall O Ceallaigh (ClonmelAC); O/50 : Walter Keane (Waterford AC); O/55 : Larry Lacey (St. Joseph’s); 0/60 : Pascal Proctor (West Waterford); Junior : Aaron Fenlon (St. Joseph’s); Wheelchair Participant : Sean Connick

Team : Waterford AC (Brian Swaby, PJ Scollard and John Nolan)

Senior Ladies :

1. Martina O’Dwyer (Carrick AC) 37:47 2. Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) 38:08 3. Jackie Carthy (Kilmore AC) 38:43 4. Maria Griffin (St. Joseph’s) 39:42 5. Sally Forristal (St. Joseph’s) 41:29; O/35: Karen Ryan (West Waterford AC); O/40: Diane Behan (Waterford AC); O/45: Ann Dunford (West Waterford); O/50: Bernie Prendergast (West Waterford); O/55: Kathleen Kennedy (Waterford AC)

Junior: Alina Neumerzhitskaya (Clonmel AC); Team : St. Joseph’s (Breda Hennessy, Verena Fenlon and Anila Barry)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.