Search our Archive


Larkspur win Inter-Firms Premier Cup at Hillview



Inter Firms Tennis

Larkspur won the Hillview Inter Firms Premier Cup competition with a very strong team, Eamon Morrissey, Andrew Thompson, Niamh O’ Dwyer and Joan O’Sullivan,they beat a Hillview team; Eugene O’ Mahoney, Des Bolger, Nuala Smyth and Trish Keating. Moss Ahearn’s Larkspur team beat the Castleview Everett Construction team in the premier plate. The A competition was won by Layla Healthcare from Mitchelstown, they beat Ian Murphy’s Kilfeckle team in the final. Emly won the B cup beating Castleview Dawn Pork and Bacon. Hillview’s Gerry Cahill team beat AJ Cabs from Castleview in the B plate. Eugene Cooney’s Sporting Press won the C cup, against MSD Sweetman. A feature of the competition this year was the good distribution of prizes amongst the clubs. Again we thank MSD and Bulmers for their sponsorship of this competition.

Winter League

The notice for the Winter League is on the noticeboard, if you want to play competitive tennis during November, get your name on the entry sheet. Play is scheduled for Monday and Wednesday evenings, starting on the 4th.


On Saturday 12th October the Hillview Lotto Jackpot was worth €5,500. The numbers drawn were 2-7-14-17. There was not winner of the Jackpot.

There were six with 3 number; each receives €20. Next Draw on Saturday 19th October and will be worth €5,600.

Pitch and Putt

On Saturday last Hillview players made their way to Fermoy for their annual outing.

There was some great Pitch and Putt played on the day and some plenty of fun was had by all.

The results of the competitions are as follows:

Scramble: Winners were John Fitzgerald, Evelyn Cahill & Frankie Gubbins.

Runners-up were Rory O’Hanrahan, Lorraine Creed and Nora Whelan.

Gross Winners were Michael Kennedy, Joan Donlan and Anne Fitzgerald.

Fourball: Winners were Rory O’Hanrahan and Evelyn Cahill. Runners-up were Stephen O’Reilly and Nora Whelan. Gross winners were John Fitzgerald and Breda Howell.

Presidents Prize

The above competition will take place on Sunday 27th October. Entry fee €8. Start time will be 9.30am with last card at 3 pm.

The President’s Prize is in the Player of the Year and Hole in One competitions.

Presentation of prizes will take place at 9.30 on the night.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.