Search our Archive


Tipperary defeat Sligo by a flattering 13 points margin

Tipperary beat Sligo by 6-13 to 5-3 in a high scoring league clash at Ned Hall Park, Clonmel on Sunday

Tipperary beat Sligo by 6-13 to 5-3 in a high scoring league clash at Ned Hall Park, Clonmel on Sunday

Tipperary laid down a marker straight away with a five point lead; three from Gillian O’Brien and one each from Mairead Morrissey and Claire Carroll.

Sligo’s Noelle Gormley pointed but Tipperary’s Claire Carroll returned the double score deficit with a point in the tenth minute. Tipperary’s Lorraine O’Shea sustained an injury and was replaced by Maeve Hackett. This break in play unsettled Tipperary and Sligo regrouped and took advantage by scoring 2-2 in the next five minutes to take a five point lead. Alison Lonergan replied with a point and Tipperary finished the half stronger and goals by Mairead Morrissey and Gillian O’Brien helped the Premier County to a one point interval lead, 2-7 to 3-3.

Tipperary had the wind in the second half and scored two unanswered points before Sligo’s Stephanie O’Reilly equalised with another goal. Shauna Ryan put Tipperary back on top when she scored a point although Sligo’s ability to score goals was making it very hard for Tipperary to retain the lead.

In the 40th minute Stephanie again netted the ball to put Sligo in front by two points.

Tipperary responded with points from the Carroll sisters Edith and Claire to bring the sides level heading in to the final quarter.


The game was now in the melting pot but with 11 minutes remaining, Edith Carroll scored a Tipperary goal to put them in front for good. Having put in a valiant effort which resulted in five goals, Sligo were visibly tiring and Tipperary took full advantage in the closing stages.

Alison Lonergan scored two late goals while Shauna Ryan also raised a green flag and by the final whistle, Tipperary ran out winners by a flattering 13 point margin - Tipperary 6-13 Sligo 5-3.


In these difficult weather conditions Tipperary Ladies County Board would like to thank Clonmel Óg for the use of their facilities which were to the highest possible standards.

Tipperary Aisling O’Connor (Cahir), Brid Condon (Aherlow), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Sinead Delahunty (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Siobhan Condon (Aherlow), Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus), Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers - Captain), Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers), Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers), Edith Carroll (Galtee Rovers), Claire Carroll (Galtee Rovers), Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone), Alison Lonergan (Galtee Rovers), Mairead Morrissey (Brian Borus), Shauna Ryan (Ballymacarbry).

Subs used – Maeve Hackett (Moycarkey Borris) for Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone), Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone) for Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers), Rachel Kenneally (Aherlow) for Maeve Hackett (Moycarkey Borris)

Scorers – Alison Lonergan 2-1, Gillian O’Brien 1-3, Mairead Morrissey 1-2 (0-1 frees), Shauna Ryan 1-2, Claire Carroll 0-4, Edith Carroll 1-1

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.