Search our Archive


Tipperary hurlers reach All-Ireland semi-final

John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer was the man of the match when Tipperary beat Dublin in Sunday's All-Ireland Hurling Championship quarter-final.
Tipperary 2-23 Dublin 0-16

Tipperary 2-23 Dublin 0-16

Two goals from Killenaule’s John O’Dwyer have helped Tipperary advance to the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship semi-final, where they will meet Cork at Croke Park on August 17.

Tipp proved too strong for Dublin in Sunday’s quarter-final at Semple Stadium, winning by 13 points.

O’Dwyer, who won RTE’s man of the match award, struck for his first goal in the 52nd minute after Denis Maher, James Woodlock and Seamus Callanan combined to create the opportunity. The goal put Tipp 9 points clear and by now they were well on their way to a Croke Park showdown against the Munster champions.

O’Dwyer’s second came seven minutes from the end when he buried the rebound after Dublin goalie Alan Nolan had pulled off a great save from Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher’s shot.

In front of an attendance of 43,088, Tipp had taken a grip on the game from the start and led at half-time by 0-15 to 0-8.

In Sunday’s second quarter-final, also played in Thurles, Limerick had an easy 4-16 to 1-11 win over Wexford, and will now meet Kilkenny in the other-semi-final on August 10.

Tipperary - Darren Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Paddy Stapleton, Shane McGrath (0-1), Brendan Maher (captain), Padraic Maher, Kieran Bergin, James Woodlock (0-1), Gearoid Ryan (0-3), Patrick Maher (0-1), Noel McGrath (0-1), John O’Dwyer (2-2 including 0-1 free), Seamus Callanan (0-11 including 7 frees and 2 ‘65s) and Lar Corbett (0-2).

Substitutes - Denis Maher for Noel McGrath (58 minutes), Jason Forde for Gearoid Ryan (60 minutes), Eoin Kelly for Lar Corbett (63 minutes), Shane Bourke (0-1) for Patrick Maher (67 minutes) and Thomas Stapleton for James Woodlock (69 minutes).

Dublin - Alan Nolan, Shane Durkin, Peter Kelly, Niall Corcoran, Stephen Hiney, Liam Rushe (0-1 free), Michael Carton, David Treacy (0-1), John McCaffrey (captain, 0-1), Danny Sutcliffe (0-1), Alan McCrabbe (0-5 frees), Ryan O’Dwyer (0-1), Conor McCormack, Conal Keaney (0-2) and Colm Cronin.

Substitutes - David O’Callaghan (0-1) for Conor McCormack (25 minutes), Paul Ryan (0-2 including 1 free and 1 ‘65) for Colm Cronin (half time), Niall McMorrow for Danny Sutcliffe (41 minutes), Joseph Boland for Alan McCrabbe (45 minutes) and Eamon Dillon (0-1) for David Treacy (55 minutes).

Referee - Brian Gavin, Offaly.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.