Search our Archive


Jonathan Walsh hits 4-4 as Cashel prove too strong for Arravale

There were wins for both Cashel King Cormacs in Minor ‘A’ anf for Emly/St. Treacy’s and Golden/Kilfeacle in the Minor ‘B’ Hurling Championships last week.

There were wins for both Cashel King Cormacs in Minor ‘A’ anf for Emly/St. Treacy’s and Golden/Kilfeacle in the Minor ‘B’ Hurling Championships last week.

Minor A Hurling Championship

Cashel King Cormacs 5-12 Arravale Rovers 0-09

Cashel King Cormacs had no bother accounting for Arravale Rovers in the Dundrum House Hotel minor A hurling championship at Sean Treacy Park on Tuesday of last week.

The winners led by 3-7 to 0-2 at the interval and the highlight of their performance was the 4-4, scored by corner-forward Jonathan Walsh.

Cashel King Cormacs: Padraig Palmer , James Heffernan , Cormac Ryan , Jack Hayes, Adam Kennedy

James Cummins (0-2) , Pat Muldoon , Eoin O Dwyer (0-1), Conor Devitt (0-1), Tristan Fogarty (1-2) , Aaron McCormack . Adam White Dempsey (0-1), Jonathan Walsh (4-4) , Fionn Bonnar, Joe Hennessey (0-1).

Subs: Dean Hayes for Adam White Dempsey, Ciaran Quinn for Jack Hayes, Con Bonnar for Aaron McCormack, Brian Fitzpatrick for Jonathan Walsh.

Arravale Rovers: Maurice Mulhaire, Jordan Doyle, Cian Ryan, Mathew Moroney, Niall Fitzgerald, Ger Halligan ( 0-1)Julian Lenk. Andy Cummins ( 0-4 )Fergus Halligan (0-1), Daniel Kelly Daragh Crowe (0-2), Daran O’Dwyer (0-1), Cormack Roche, John Hickey, Conal Donovan. Subs: Conor Leahy for Mathew Moroney, Jack Hogan for Conor Roche, Jamie Ryan for Daniel Kelly.

Referee: Paddy Russell (Emly).

Emly/Treacys win one-sided affair

Minor B Hurling Championship

Emly/Treacys 6-17 Galtee Rovers 1-4

Emly/Treacys had a comprehensive victory over an under-performing Galtee Rovers side in the Bewley’s Ltd minor B hurling championship game played at Bansha on Thursday evening.

The winners led by 3-13 to 1-3 at the interval in a totally one-sided affair. The only excitement came from a few flash points, as players became frustrated and two red cards were issued.

Emly/Treacys: Shane Stapleton, James Condon, Ger Egan, Dylan Fahey, Simon Maher, Emmet Ryan, Paul Ryan, Pat Deegan, Daragh Kennedy (0-1), Gary O’Brien (0-1), Mattie Feehan (2-3), Mikey Feehan (0-1), Patrick Carey (1-7), Brian Carey (2-4), Tom Ryan (1-0). Subs: Andrew McGrath for Brian Carey, Sean Burke for Mikey Feehan, Philip Murphy for Patrick Carey, Mikey Hayes for Daragh Kennedy.

Galtee Rovers: David O’Mahony, Robert McGee, Eric Grogan, James Ryan, Daragh Egan, Shane Power, Stephen O’Dwyer, Paddy Gallagher (1-3), David Byron, Dylan Gubbins, Sean Daly, Jack Morrissey, Niall Grogan, Darren McGrath (0-1), Edmond Burke.

Referee: John McCormack (Kickhams).

Heffernan’s goals vital in Golden win

Golden-Kilfeacle 2-10 Lattin-Cullen Gaels 0-15

Golden-Kilfeacle scored a narrow victory over Lattin Cullen Gaels in the Bewleys Ltd Minor B hurling championship at Lattin on Thursday evening.

Golden-Kilfeacle had the advantage in the first half, helped by Niall Heffernan’s two goals and led by 2-4 to 0-7 at the interval.

Lattin-Cullen Gaels made great strides in the second half, having the better of the exchange, but just came up short by a point at the final whistle. They got a great performance out of their goalkeeper

Golden-Kilfeacle: Killiam Hayde, Robert Wade, Keith Landy, Evan Hayde, Eoin Ryan, James Casey (0-4), Cian O’Connell, David Wade, Timmy Holland, Andy Byrnes (0-2), Seanie O’Halloran (0-2), Jonathan Wade, Thomas Wade, Niall Fogarty (0-1), Niall Heffernan (2-1).

Lattin Cullen Gaels: Luke Ashmore, Mikey O’Halloran, Patrick O’Donoghue, Patrick Crehan, Mikey Power, Anthony Leahy, Stephen Moloney, Shane Ryan, Kevin Kinane, Niall Enright (0-2), Jamie Franks (0-5), Patrick O’Donoghue, Kevin Franks, Shane McGrath (0-1), Shane Neville (0-7). Sub: Tony Byrne for Patrick O’Donoghue

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.