Search our Archive


Rockwell Rovers never look back after dream start of early goals

West Junior A Football Championship

West Junior A Football Championship

Rockwell Rovers 3-14 Lattin-Cullen 2-10

Rockwell Rovers had a dream start over Lattin-Cullen in the AIB Tipperary junior A football championship at Golden on Sunday afternoon when centre-forward Pat Cummins raced through the opposing defence for goals twice during the third minute.

Dermot O’Brien scored a third in the eleventh minute and even though Lattin-Cullen came more into the game after that they were behind by 3-8 to 1-4 at the interval.

Rockwell Rovers continued to dominate when they added four points during the opening ten minutes of the second-half but then went for fifteen minutes without a score. Lattin-Cullen were on top during this period but they didn’t get sufficient scores and were belind by 3-14 to 2-10 at the final whistle.

Rockwell Rovers: Michael Fahey, Eoin Cleary (0-1), Willie Flynn, Eoin Sheehy, Kevin Hally, Brian Shanahan, John Heney, Stephen Boland (0-3), Eoin Byrnes (0-1), James O’Halloran (0-1), Pat Cummins (2-1), Kevin Heney (0-2), Dermot O’Brien (1-2), Colin Heney (0-1), Mikie Barron (0-2). Sub: Tommy Flynn for Dermot O’Brien.

Lattin-Cullen: Patrick O’Donoghue, Dermot Leahy, Joe O’Dwyer, Stephen Moloney, Liam Cunningham (0-1), Stephen Martin (0-1), Leonard Leahy, Cormac O’Donoghue, Sean Kiely (0-1), Shane Ryan (0-1), Pat Power (0-1), Darren Neville (0-2), Michael Kenny (0-2), Damian Morrissey (0-1), Timmy Heffernan (1-0). Subs: David Cooney for Dermot Leahy, Cathal Martin for Damian Morrissey, Brendan O’Sullivan (1-0) for Timmy Heffernan, Mikey Power for Leonard Leahy, Kevin Kinane for Pat Power.

Referee: John Ryan Bob (Cashel King Cormacs).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.