Search our Archive


St. Patrick’s fade after early promise

Nenagh Éire Óg 2-12

Nenagh Éire Óg 2-12

St. Patrick’s 1-12

South champions St. Pat’s

surrendered a 3-points half-time lead in Saturday’s

Junior A Hurling Championship semi-final in Holycross.

Nenagh’s Bob O’Brien opened the scoring before Tony O’Brien equalised. Then Eire Óg’s Niall Madden scored a monster point from his own half and Tony O’Brien worked hard to set up Robert McCormack to point. In the next seven minutes Éire Óg scored 1-2, Eddie Tucker getting the goal to put them ahead by 1-4 to 0-2 after 17 minutes.

St. Pat’s kicked into gear with another Tony O’Brien free and a goal from Robert McCormack. A fine point from the outstanding Conor Clancy levelled it and three points from the excellent Tony O’Brien left St. Pat’s in front by 1-7 to 1-4 at half time.

Nenagh really began to dominate early in the second half and Eddie Tucker’s goal and a point from Philip Hickey regained the lead. Tony O‘Brien pointed two frees to give the Drangan men hope and goalie John Moroney denied Nenagh with a great save. However Nenagh hit a winning streak with four unanswered points that won them the game. St. Pat’s pushed for the goal that never really looked like coming. The full time whistle was blown with just seconds added for injuries that seemed to last minutes.

Nenagh Éire Óg - Kevin Flynn, Brian Flynn, John O’Donoghue (captain), Michael Collins, Darragh Walsh (0-1 sideline), Niall Madden (0-1), Adam Gratton, Bob O’Brien (0-1), John Cahalan (0-1), David Cleary, Richie Flannery, Philip Hickey (0-2), David Hickey, Eddie Tucker (2-0), David Hackett (0-6, 4 frees, 1 ‘65).

St. Patrick’s - John Moroney, Darren Meagher, Paul Horan, Damien Barry, Nicky Kearney, Neil Gleeson, Conor Clancy (0-1), Danny Gleeson, Shane Gorey, Tony O’Brien (0-9, 6 frees), Brendan Gleeson, Aidan Buckley, Conor Barry, Robbie Meagher, Robert McCormack (captain 1-2). Subs - Patrick Moroney for Darren Meagher (37 minutes), Adam Gratton for Conor Barry (48 minutes), Brian McCormack for Brendan Gleeson (57 minutes).

Referee - Phil Ryan.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.