Search our Archive


South Tipp win inter-divisional u-15 hurling title for first time with shock win over North

South Tipperary won the Roger Ryan interdivisional u-15 hurling title for the first time with victory over North Tipp in the final at Toomevara

South Tipperary won the Roger Ryan interdivisional u-15 hurling title for the first time with victory over North Tipp in the final at Toomevara

Inside the opening seconds the South came alight with a classic point from Dylan Walsh. From the puck out the North were awarded a free within thirty metres from the South goaline. Free taker Gerry Kelly’s attempt dropped short of the target and was cleared out setting up another South attack.

A resulting free was duly converted by Dylan Walsh to put them two points up.

The next two close proximity frees came to the North and were duly converted by Gerry Kelly to put the sides level for the first time at two points each. Three placed balls went astray for the South and in contrast Cian Darcy put the north ahead with a pointed free from about sixty five metres out.

This score added impetuous to the North’s play but yet failed to materialise on the score sheet. On the other hand South Tipp were awarded a free after their defence had experienced a barrage of attacks and landed another point to put the sides level for the second time at three apiece.

On the sixteenth minute the North were awarded a free near the sideline some forty meters out and was brilliantly slotted over the bar by Gerry Kelly, seconds later Lee Howard set up Gerry Kelly for another point to put two points between the sides.

However the South had many players who dominated their physical superiority which put their opponents under pressure. A free some forty meters out was slotted over by Dylan Walsh to reduce the difference to a single point at the interval, North 0-5 South 0-4.

In the second period it was the North that commenced with several attacks into the South Tipp goal area, but it was six minutes before they added to the score board with a point from Gerry Kelly and three minutes later he pointed a free to put his side three points ahead.

With the board reading North 0-7 South 0-4, to any neutral observer it was the North that would appear to be best placed to taste victory as they mastered in many of the duels and with the South failing to convert the frees that had came their way.

However the script could not have been written for what was to occur within the remaining eight minutes.

On the thirteenth minute the North missed out on a certain scoring opportunity and from the resulting puck out the South laid on a serious attack with the ball bouncing off the upright into the hands of Ben Hyland who crashed it into the net much to the delight of the South followers putting the sides level for the fourth time of the contest.

Two minutes later another South goal had the North lads reeling and everything was ‘going south’ from here on. Conor Cashman and Enda Keane added two points for the South to bring the final score South Tipp 2-6 North Tipp 0-7.

There were scenes of jubilation as the South had recorded their first ever cup success in this tournament.

Prior to the presentation of the Roger Ryan Memorial Trophy, chairman Joe Kennedy complimented all four teams that participated in the tournament and acknowledged the efforts of all associated with the Toomevara club in their hosting of the tournament.

Toomevara committee member Liz Kinane thanked all the participants and added that it was a fitting tribute to the memory of one of Tipperary’s great sportsmen the late Roger Ryan.

Dermot Ryan, son of the late Roger Ryan, presented the cup to South captain Richie Ivors.

South Tipp - Ciarán Barrett (Clonmel Og), Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule), John Walsh (Ballingarry), Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan Kilcash), Dean O’Connor (Killenaule), Kyle Peters (St.Marys Clonmel), Paudie Feehan (Killenaule), Gavin Ryan (St. Marys Clonmel), Michael Whelan (Carrick Davins), Richie Ivors Captain (Ballingarry), Ben Hyland (Fr.Sheehy’s),Michael Barlow (Ballybacon Grange), Conor Cashman (Cahir), Luke Faulkner (Carrick Davins), Dylan Walsh (Ballingarry), Eoin Barry (Killenaule), Keith Cleere (Ballingarry), Aaron Dunne (Carrick Swans), Colin Shelly (Mullinahone), Colin English (Fr. Sheehys), Darragh Kelly (Mullinahone), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan Kilcash), Enda Keane (Mullinahone) and Jamie Ahern (St.Marys Clonmel).

Selectors: Tony Walsh (Ballingarry), Tadgh Howard (Cahir), Joe Barrett (Clonmel Og) and Brendan Ferris (Marlfield)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.