Search our Archive


Lattin/Cullen Gaels blow Cappawhite away

Lattin-Cullen Gaels 2-13 
Cappawhite 2-7

Lattin-Cullen Gaels 2-13 
Cappawhite 2-7

Lattin-Cullen Gaels were too good for Cappawhite in the Tipperary Co-Op Super Valu junior B hurling championship game played at Sean Treacy Park, Tipperary Town, on Saturday evening.

Although Cappawhite had the breeze in their favour in the first half it was Lattin-Cullen Gaels who led at the interval by 2-6 to 0-7, the two goals coming in the sixteenth and the thirtieth minutes from Shane Ryan and John Moloney respectively.

Despite going in five points down and having squandered their advantage of the elements in the opening half,

Cappawhite made a determined effort after the interval to redress the situation. James Kirby had an early goal for them after three minutes and now the advantage was just two points. However Cappawhite found it difficult to penetrate the Lattin-Cullen defence and failed to score again until the twenty-fifth minutes when John English goaled.

In the meantime Lattin-Cullen Gales had scored seven points of their own, making full use of the breeze, and they well-deserved their 2-13 to 2-7 victory at the conclusion of the hour’s hurling.

John Condon who raised five white flags over the course of the game, Shane Ryan, Denis O’Shea and Paddy Hennessy impressed for the Lattin-Cullen Gaels, while Kevin Mullins, Davy Orr and Stephen Greiswood were best for Cappawhite who in fairness never stopped trying.

Lattin-Cullen Gaels: Liam Cunningham, Aiden Hogan, James Noonan, Tadhg Hennessy, Stephen Moloney, Denis O’Shea, Sean Cunningham (0-1), Paddy Hennessy (0-3), Michael Kenny, Eoin O’Connell (0-1), Jamie Carr, John Moloney (1-0), John Condon (0-5), James Power (0-3), Shane Ryan (1-0).

Sub: Joey Fahy for Aiden Hogan.

Cappawhite: Michael R Buckley, Brendan Buckley, Michael Ryan (W), Eanna Heffernan, Pat Stapleton, Stephen Greiswood, John English (1-0), Davy Orr (0-3), George Kelly, Tom Carr (0-1), Kevin Mullins (0-1), James Kirby (1-1), Damien Kiely, Seanie Ryan (W) (0-1), David Stapleton.

Subs: Fergal Ryan for Tom Carr, Robbie Fitzgerald for Davy Stapleton, Liam McCarthy for George Kelly, Joe Carmody for Davy Orr.

Referee: John Ryan (B) (Cashel King Cormacs.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.