Search our Archive


Lattin-Cullen pip Mullinahone for art and model making medals

There is no time for relaxation or boredom in Community Games circles at the moment.

There is no time for relaxation or boredom in Community Games circles at the moment.

A total of five county finals took place during the past week and three more are scheduled for next Sunday when the boys and girls indoor soccer finals will be played in Tipperary Town.

The first of the five finals was the Talent competition which was hosted by Lattin Cullen area and co-ordinated by Paul Carew followed by the u14 juvenile table quiz hosted by Thurles, co-ordinated by Louise Lannigan, Art and Model Making hosted in Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel, co-ordinated by Andy Griffin, Boys u10 Indoor Soccer hosted by Nenagh, co-ordinator Willie Jones and Swimming hosted by Clonmel, co-ordinated by Tom O’Ceallaigh.

Approximately 250 children from all over the county travelled to Clonmel to contest the Art and Model Making on Saturday.

The judges were very impressed with all exhibits, many of which were of a very high standard. Lattin Cullen and Mullinahone areas battled it out for the title of area with the most medals with Lattin Cullen taking the honours winning a total of 12 – 7 Gold, 3 Silver 2 Bronze while Mullinahone’s haul amounted to 10 - 3 Gold, 3 Silver, 4 Bronze. Newport won 4 medals 2 Gold and 2 Silver while Fethard also had 4 – 1 Gold, and 3 Bronze.

Fourteen year old Cassie Needham proved the theory of “try and try again and at last you will succeed” by achieving her goal of getting to National Finals after knocking on the door for the past five years. Success this year is great as Cassie will be overage next year.

Cianan Lalor, St Mary’s, is no stranger to national finals,this is also his last year to contest boys u16 event.

The Looby, O’Grady and Carews from Lattin Cullen are becoming household names in Athlone AIT as regular competitors. They will be joined in their quest for enjoyment and glory by Rebecca Moloney and Meabh Hourigan. Leah Carew has a double engagement at national finals as she joins her sister, Aine to represent Tipperary in the Disco dancing.

This event was exceptionally well run by county chairman, Andy Griffin, along with his wife, Mary, daughter Sorcha, Mary Walsh, John Hoctor, Margaret Burke Hogan who were joined by all members of the executive committee to make this a memorable afternoon.

The Quiz was also well contested. Winners were St. Flannans, Runners up Tipperary Town and a three way tie between two teams from Moycarkey and St Mary’s Clonmel which resulted in bronze going to Moycarkey after a tie break. Competitors from St Mary’s were Fionnuala Sheehan, Ben O’Sullivan Sean O’Connor and Sinead Gaughran.

Winners of all county finals will now represent Tipperary at the National Finals in AIT Athlone. They are all included on the programme for the weekend of May 24th to 26th.


Girls Boys

Under 8

1. Kate Shortt, Roscrea Evan Moran, Ballinahinch-Killoscully

2. Erin Bolger, Mullinahone William Baird, Newport

3.Olivia Lynch, Mullinahone Joseph Jackson O’Flynn, Fethard Killusty

3. Ciara Brid Ryan, St. Mary’s Cormac Ryan, Ballinahinch-Killoscully

Under 10

1. Roisin Ryan, Newport John J. Ryan, Newport

2. Lauren Hannon, Newport Che Delaney Scott, Mullinahone

3. Aine Carew, Lattin Cullen Ciaran McGuire, Fethard Killusty

Under 12

1. Rebecca Moloney, Lattin Cullen Alex Maher, Mullinahone

2. Sarah Madden, Silvermines Diarmuid Looby, Lattin Cullen

3. Marion Gillman, Mullinahone Matthew Burke, Fethard Killusty

3.- Alex Kerton, St. Olivers

Under 14

1.Meadbh Hourigan, Lattin Cullen Seamus O’Grady, Lattin Cullen

2.Emma Sutcliffe, St Peter and Paul’s William Jones, St Flannan’s

3. Lauren O’Connor, St Flannan’s John Gillman, Mullinahone

Under 16

1. Cassie Needham, Fethard Killusty Cianan Lawlor, St Mary’s

2. Ailish Kennedy, Cahir

3. Niamh Browne, Knockavilla-Donaskeigh

3. Cora Howe, Lattin Cullen.

Model Making

Under 10

1.Leah Carew, Lattin Cullen Daniel Vaughan, Mullinahone

2.Mary Leahy, Lattin Cullen Conor O’Brien, Mullinahone

3.Roisin Hickey, Silvermines

Under 12

1. Nessa Burke, St Flannan’s Shane Carew, Lattin Cullen

2. Denise Cullagh, Silvermines Aidan Dillon, Silvermines

3. Betty Ann Hickey Daire O’Brien, Mullinahone

Under 14

1. Laoise Looby, Lattin Cullen Cathal Brett, Mullinahone

2. Niamh Howe, Lattin Cullen

Under 16

1. Aoife Ryan, Lattin Cullen Colin Dillon, Silvermines.

U14 Table Quiz

St Flannan’s Gold

David Jones, Mark Fanning, Paul Costello, William Jones,

Tipperary Town Silver

Eimear Healy, Alyssa Franks, Kevin Quigley, Ciaran Healy, Sean Landers

Moycarkey Borris Bronze

Eoin Sheridan, Diarmuid Maher Bill Hackett, Michael O Donnell

Talent Events.

Solo Singing U14

1. Ciara Sweeney, Newport, 2. Emily Hickey, Silvermines, 3 Aoibhann De Burca Quinlivan, Sean Treacys

 Solo Music- U13

1. Keelan McGrath, Borrisokane, 2 Manus Heenan, Borrisokane, Joint 3rd Cathal Greene, St Flannan’s, Aoife Nolan, Sean Treacy’s

Solo Dance – Modern & Disco – U14

1.Susan Keyes, Silvermines. 2 Hazel Reynolds, Silvermines

Recitation U12

1 Leona Ryan, Sean Traceys, 2 Aodhan Ryan, St Flannan’s

Group Dance – Modern & Disco U14

1 Leah Carew and Aine Carew, Lattin Cullen

Group Singing U14

Silvermines- Cara O’Brien, Emily Hickey Louise McGrath Dunn, Susan Keyes, Hazel Reynolds, Betty Anne Hickey

Sean Traceys - Aoíbhann De Búrca Quinlivan, Alicia Quinlan

Drama/Comedy Sketch – U14

1 Silvermines -

2. St Flannans - Group Music – U14

Sean Treacys Conor Nolan, Aoife Nolan, Gillian Lyons, James Rochford, Paul Nolan

Borrisokane Manus Heenan, Keelan McGrath

St Flannan’s Niamh McCormack, Cathal Greene, Aedemar Flaherty, Aisling Carroll

U10 Boys Indoor Soccer

St. Flannan’s defeated Moycarkey Borris 1-0.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.