Search our Archive


Arravale’s golden streak continues with well deserved win

West Tipperary Bord Na Nog

West Tipperary Bord Na Nog

Arravale Rovers 4-8 Galtee Rovers/Aherlow 2-5

Arravale Rovers’ amazing success rate at U-16 Football continued at Lattin on Sunday evening last with their sixth victory in ten years following a well-deserved nine-points win over Galtee Rovers/Aherlow in the AIB Tipperary sponsored U-16 A Championship West Final.

Because of heavy earlier rain playing conditions were very heavy in parts but that did not stop both sides contributing to what was a very competitive and well contested final.

Galtee Rovers’ Shane Ryan opened the scoring with a point after three minutes but within ten minutes Arravale, applying constant pressure made it pay with goals by John Hickey and Mark Hoban from a 45, which went all the way to the net and with it they earned a lead they never relinquished.

Arravale continued to push forward with points by Daniel Kelly, Mark Hoban and Jamie Ryan but David Byron with a point followed by a terrific goal by Shane Ryan, who weaved his way through the Arravale defence, Galtees within touching distance and just four points adrift.

Again Arravale, making better use of possession, finished off the first half the stronger with points by John Hickey and a converted 45 by man of the match Mark Hoban that put Arravale into a clear six point lead at the break, 2-5 to 1-2.

The second half saw Arraval continue where they left off as they stamped their authority on the game with points by Tommy Lowry and John Hickey and a goal by Darragh Bourke giving them an unassailable 11 points lead with ten minutes of the second period elapsed.

A point by Dylan Gubbins for Galtee was quickly cancelled out by a goal-bound shot by Darragh Bourke, which was deflected to the net by the Galtees full back and a point by John Hickey completed Arravale’s scoring total.

The departure of Arravale’s Oscar O’Dwyer on a second yellow with five minutes remaining saw Galtees stage a late revival that yielded 1-2 through a Dara Egan goal and points by David Byron and Shane Ryan.

After the game the Chairman of West Tipperary Bord Na nOg Tom Dawson presented the trophy to the victorious captain Cian Ryan.

Arravale Rvs - Jack Comerford, Tomas O’Murchu, Niall Fitzgerald, Fergus McCall, Oscar O’Dwyer, Diarmuid O’Halloran, Cian Ryan (captain), Mark Hoban 1-2, Tommy Lowry 0-1, Daniel Kelly 0-1, Darragh Bourke 2-0, Conor McGrath, Jack Hogan, John Hickey 1-3, Jamie Ryan 0-1.

Subs - Cormac O’Halloran for D.Kelly, Cormac Roche for J.Hogan, Cormac Flanagan, Shane Mulcahy, Dylan Buckley, Cormac Maher.

Galtee Rvs/Aherlow - Tadhg Ryan, Tony Byron, Kevin Lonergan, Darren Lonergan, Jake Flannery, Shane Power, Stephen O’Dwyer, David Byron 0-1, Dara Egan 1-0, Edmond Burke, Shane Ryan 1-3, Robert Magee, Dylan Gubbins 0-1, Calum Fanning, Patrick O’Donoghue (Aherlow).

Subs - Edmond O’Dwyer, Aaron Cunningham (Aherlow), Alan O’Brien, Niall Grogan, Adam McGrath.

Referee - Paddy Russell.


AIB Tipp U-16 A Football Championship

Semi-Final Galtee Rvs/Aherlow 6-18 Cashel KC 0-1

Semi-Final Arravale Rvs 5-8 Clonoulty 0-8

West Final Arravale Rvs 4-8 Galtee Rvs/Aherlow 2-5

Permanent TSB Clonmel U-14 B Football Losers Group

Rosegreen 2-6 Rockwell 2-0

Golden 6-4 Lattin 5-7 (Draw )

Lattin/Cullen 5-8 Golden /Kilfeacle 3-3 (Replay)

Friends of Tipp Football U-12 Shield

Lattin/Cullen 4-7 Cashel KC 4-4

Arravale Rvs 3-9 Rockwell Rvs 2-1

Friends of Tipp Football U-12 Plate Quarter Finals

Arravale Rvs B 9-3 Rosegreen B 1-1

Emly 2-6 Sologhead 0-4

Rosegreen A 4-3 Sean Treacys 0-1

Jordan Embroidery U-14C Football (Round 1)

Kickhams 4-5 Sologhead 4-3

Hanley Tyres U-14 A Football Championship

Cashel KC received a walkover from Kickhams

Cashel Credit Union U-16 B Football Championship Replay

Lattin/Cullen 2-13 Rosegreen 0-8


Thursday May 16th

The Friary Pharmacy Cashel U-12 E Football (Round 7)

Rosegreen D v Rockwell Rvs B, Rosegreen Community Field 7pm

Cappawhite B v Knockavilla Kickhams D, Cappawhite 7pm

Friends of Tipp Football U-12 Shield Final

Arravale Rvs v Clonoulty/Rossmore or Lattin/Cullen, Sean Treacy Park 7pm

Friends of Tipp Football U-12 Plate Semi Finals

Golden/Kilfeacle or Cashel KC v Rosegreen (Venue Golden or Cashel, 7pm) Eoghan Lonergan

Arravale Rvs v Emly, Sean Treacy Park 7pm, Willie Kennedy

Hanley Tyres Tipp U-14 A Football Losers Group

Losers of Galtee Rvs / Arravale Rvs v K. Kickhams, Golden 7pm, John Ryan (Bob)

Monday May 20th

Friary Pharmacy Cashel U-12 E Football

Knockavilla Kickhams D v Arravale Rvs E, Dundrum 7pm

Hanley Tyres U-14 A Football Semi Final

(Full details including semi-final pairings not known at time of writing)

Permanent TSB Clonmel U-14 B Football Semi Finals

Cappawhite v Eire Og, Cappawhite 7pm, Richie O’Connor

Emly/Treacys v Quarter Final Winner, Emly 7pm

Jordan Embroidery U-14 C Football Semi Final

Arravale Rvs v Sologhead, Lattin 7pm, Extra Time, David Grogan

Friends of Tipp Football U-12 Plate Final

(Finalists not known at time of writing)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.