Search our Archive

Wins for Commercials and Ballyporeen in u-21 FC openers

Commercials 4-17

Commercials 4-17

Commercials 4-17

Ardfinnan 0-4

As the scoreline suggests, the clash of Clonmel Commercials and Ardfinnan was a lopsided affair on Sunday afternoon last at Clerihan in the South u-21 FC ‘A.

Ardfinnan were no match for a Commercials side that at times were ordinary but equally were excellent on occasion.

By half time Commercials were 18 points clear as Ardfinnan failed to raise a single flag in the opening 30 minutes. Goals from Padraig Looram, Liam Murchan and Michael Quinlivan in the opening half helped the Clonmel side establish an unassailable half time lead.

With four changes at the break, Commercials began the second half brightly with points from Sammy Ryan and Padraig Looram before wing forward Michael Goonan registered Ardfinnan’s first point of the game. There was a further goal from Sammy Ryan in the eighth minute of the second half and were happy to tag on points for the remainder of the game. Ardfinnan had further points from Gerry Cronin and Oisin Flynn.

Commercials - Jake McDonald, Robbie Lyons, Liam Ryan, Ross Dennehy, Richie Gunne, Kevin Fahey, Cathal McGeever, Brian Walsh, Padraig Looram, Jason Lonergan, Paudie White, Stephen Kelly, Sammy Ryan, Michael Quinlivan, Peter Murchan

Ardfinnan - Nigel Carberry, Alan Condon, Derek McNamara, Eoin O’Brien, James Shine, Oisin Flynn, Daragh Boyle, Sean Nagle, Gerry Cronin, Arron Lonergan, Colin O’Gorman, Michael Goonan, Michael O’Hagan, Eoin Lambert, Michael Tobin.

Ballyporeen 4-5

Moyle Rovers 2-7

Ballyporeen got the better of Moyle Rovers in the South u-21 FC ‘A’ at Clonmel on Sunday, winning 4-5 to 2-7.

The game started in lively fashion when within a minute Philip Quirke goaled for Rovers.

Almost immediately Ballyporeen replied with a goal from Jason Cahill and soon after were awarded a free that Fionan O’Sullivan pointed.

Mikey Kearney then had another goal for Ballyporeen with an immediate reply of a point for Moyle Rovers by Brian Gleeson.

Philip Quirke added a fine point from play in the 10th minute and in the 15th minute we had an exchange of points from Brian Gleeson and Noel Vaughan to leave the score Ballyporeen 2-2 Moyle Rovers 1-3.

In the second quarter we had only one point for Moyle Rovers from Philip Quirke while Ballyporeen added 1-1, the point from Fionan O’Sullivan and the goal in the 28th minute from Noel Vaughan to leave the half time score Ballyporeen 3-3 Moyle Rovers 1-4.

As it was the first game of the year the second half was more keenly contested with Moyle Rovers just edging it on the score line but the goals scored in the opening half were the difference.

For Moyle Rovers in the second half David Roberts scored a point with Craig Condon adding 1-3, the goal coming from a penalty in the 53rd minute with the Ballyporeen goal also coming from a penalty by Mikey Kearney in the 58th minute.

He also added a point while Noel Vaughan got their remaining point to leave the final score Ballyporeen 4-5 Moyle Rovers 2-7.

The coming weekend games will be very important for all when Ballyporeen meet Ardfinnan and Moyle Rovers meet Commercials

Ballyporeen - Michael Sweeney, Aaron Mackey, Bobby Reidy, Rian O’Callaghan, William English, Eoin Morrissey, John Martin, Shane Lynch, Neil Barrett, Fionan O’Sullivan 0-2(1f), Mikey Kearney 2-1, 1-0 Penalty, John Kearney, Noel Vaughan 1-2, Jason Cahill 1-0, Tommy Sweeney. Sub Ben Mackin, John Carey.

Moyle Rovers - Adam Hickey, Aidan Butler, Eoin O’Connor, Shane Luttrell, David Mulcahy, Cathal Quigley, Brian Norris, Luke Boland, Craig Condon 1-2, 1-0 Penalty), Danny Owens, Brian Gleeson 0-2,Shane Lonergan, Michael Fox, Philip Quirke 1-2, Paddy Morrissey. Subs David Roberts 0-1, Morgan Irwin, Ciaran Luttrell

Referee - Derek O’Mahony (Ardfinnan).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.