Search our Archive


Goals prove crucial as Mullinahone get the better of Swan

South u-21 HC

South u-21 HC

Mullinahone CJK 3-16 Carrick Swan 0-13

When referee Noel Cosgrave sounded the final whistle in Anner Park, Cloneen on Saturday afternoon in this South U21A hurling clash, Mullinahone CJK were twelve points ahead of Carrick Swan. This score-line was unfair to the Carrick lads as they were much closer to Mullinahone than the final score suggests.

Indeed for periods the young Carrick side hurled much better than their more experienced rivals. However the Swans lacked one vital skill which their opponents used to telling effect - the ability to convert chances into goals. It was the three goals that Mullinahone scored that made all the difference. The first two were scored in a seven minute spell either side of the break and they provided a cushion for Mullinahone all during the second half as Swan sought to come back at them. The third goal scored by county senior panelist Sean Curran in added time only widened the gap between the sides but the game had been won and lost long before then

Cathal Horan opened the CJK account with a point in the first minute. Bill Barrett replied. In five minutes Mikey Loughman pointed a Swan free, but Diarmuid O’Halloran levelled from midfield three minutes later. Eoin Fennelly pointed CJK into the lead but after another three minutes another Barrett point levelled. We had six minutes without a score but Eoin Fennelly scored the first of four Mullinahone points in l8 minutes. Cathal Horan from a free, Fennelly from a free for a foul on himself and Jack Shelly were the other point scorers. Then Lee Wall and Diarmuid O’Halloran exchanged points. Jack Shelly combined well with Sean Curran and Shelly slammed to the Carrick net. Danny Luttrell was booked and Lee Wall and Mikey Lonergan replied to the Mullinahone goal with points in the run up to the interval. Half time Mullinahone CJK l-8, Carrick Swan 0-4.

Overplay in the fourth minute could have cost Mullinahone but a lucky break saw Tony Treacy get a chance and he duly goaled. Sean Curran followed up with a point. In the sixth minute Richie Walsh in the Mullinahone goal made a good save and cleared well under pressure. In the next minute Mikey Lonergan showed great skill when he cut a line ball over the Mullinahone crossbar. Jack Shelly replied for CJK as he began to come more and more into the game.

Swan got on top around the middle of the field and shot four points in a row from Lonergan (2) Dale O’Mahony and Bill Walsh. At this stage Mullinahone’s two goal cushion was proving most valuable. In the 18th and 20th minutes we saw two pieces of great skill from Eoin Fennelly as he knocked down two high balls, the first to Jack Shelly and then to Denis Connolly. Both pointed as Swan began to fade. Tony Treacy pointed as did Sean Curran. Bill Walsh who had earlier seen yellow with Gary Cronin then got a second yellow. Jack Shelly placed Sean Curran for a point. Mikey Lonergan replied. Mullinahone added a goal and a point, the goal coming from Curran as time ran out. Another Loneregan point closed Swan’s account and Curran’s goal was the last score for Mullinahone.

Swan didn’t deserve to lose by 12 points. They played some very skilful hurling around the middle of the field. They were however unable to breach the Mullinahone backline which was well held together by Gary Cronin. Keith Mullally also played well at full back as did George Browning in the second half. The loss of Diarmuid O’Halloran before half-time was a blow but his replacement Denis Connolly certainly staked a first team place. Both teams in this four team group can look forward to their remaining league section games with Moyle Rovers and Ballybacon with a degree of confidence .

CJK Mullinahone - Richie Walsh, Jack McCarthy, Keith Mullally, Paul Gayson, David Walzer, Gary Cronin, Luke Mullally, Eoin Fennelly, Diarmuid O’Halloran, Danny Luttrell, Sean Curran, Jack Shelly, Tony Treacy, George Browning, Cathal Horan.

Carrick Swan - Colm Lonergan, John Joe Ryan, Dale O’Hanlon, Dean Murphy, Jamie Long, Jack Walsh, Colm Loughnan, Mikey Loughman, Dale O’Mahony, Damian McCarthy, Bill Barrett .

Referee - Noel Cosgrave (Marlfield)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.