Search our Archive

Tipp shade the clash of the All-Ireland and League champions in high-scoring challenge

Tipperary 3-20

Tipperary 3-20

Dublin 0-26

Tipperary signed off with a win in their last challenge before they face Cork in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday week (29th), when they beat Dublin in a high-scoring affair at Geraldine Park, Athy on Sunday evening.

The match was played to commemorate the replayed All-Ireland Final played between the counties at the same venue in 1909.

Tipp had to withstand a strong second half comeback from Dublin, as the All-Ireland champions got the better of the League champions in an entertaining contest.

The Tipp victory owed much to the performances of Seamus Callanan and Noel McGrath, who shot 9 points between them in the first half.

Corner-forward Shane Bourke was also prominent in that opening half and his well-taken goal in the 8th minute gave his team a healthy 1-14 to 0-9 lead.

Dublin came much more into the game in the second half with Paul Ryan, Peter Kelly and Shane Durkin all prominent.

However Seamus Callanan found the net in the 44th minute to keep Tipp’s noses in front, although goalkeeper Darren Gleeson had to make two vital stops to keep Dublin at bay.

When Shane Durkin scored the third of his four points there was only a point between the sides with 15 minutes left on the clock.

However Pat Kerwick, who had just come on as a substitute, struck the all-important goal and with John O’Brien adding a couple of points Tipp did enough to hold on.

Tipperary scorers – S. Callanan (1-4), N.McGrath (0-6, including 2 ‘65s and 1 free), S. Bourke (1-1), J. O’Brien and B. Dunne (0-3 each), P. Kerwick (1-0), Co. O’Mahony (0-2 frees) and J. Woodlock (0-1).

Dublin scorers – P. Ryan (0-10, including 8 frees), S. Durkin (0-4), D. O’Callaghan, C.McCormack and M.O’Brien (0-2 each), D. Treacy, P. Kelly, C. Keaney, R. O’Dwyer, C.McBride and D. Plunkett (0-1 each).

Tipperary – Darren Gleeson, John Coughlan, Paul Curran, Michael Cahill, David Young, Conor O’Mahony, Stephen Lillis, Shane McGrath, James Woodlock, Noel McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Benny Dunne, Shane Bourke, John O’Brien and Lar Corbett.

Substitutes – Padraic Maher for John Coughlan (56 minutes) and Pat Kerwick for Seamus Callanan (56 minutes).

Dublin – G. Maguire, P. Kelly, N. Corcoran, R. Walsh, J.McCaffrey, R. O’Dwyer, S. Durkin, M. O’Brien, A. McCrabbe, D. O’Dwyer, C. McCormack, C. Keaney, D. O’Callaghan, D. Treacy and P. Ryan.

Substitutes – A. Nolan for Maguire (half time), P. Schutte for Walsh (half time), M. Quilty for McCrabbe (half time), S. Ryan for D. O’Dwyer (45 minutes), D. Quirke for O’Brien (47 minutes), P. Carton for Treacy (48 minutes), C.McBride for O’Callaghan (60 minutes), J. Sheanon for McCaffrey (60 minutes) and D. Plunkett for McCormack (65 minutes).

Referee – Brian Gavin (Offaly).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.